Tim's Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This stew came out really good, but there are a few things that I changed or would change in the future. Most importantly, I would make a proper rue instead of the oil/flour mix. My stew had a slightly floury taste that could have been avoided if I cooked the flour a bit before adding to the stew. I also reduced the amount by half after reading previous reviews. I added a parsnip and one rib of celery to the stew as well and they both tasted great in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This recipe was tasting great until I added the amount of flour and oil the recipe called for to thicken. It was way too much. I would make this again, but I will add about half or maybe even less, of the flour and oil mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This is fabulous. I didn't use the oil, just added the flour directly because I am just that good and it was great. I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by timbertiger
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
My husband is from Ireland, so I made this as part of a traditional Irish dinner (NOT corned beef and cabbage!). He LOVED it and said it was like something that would be served in a nice restaurant in Ireland. I used half of a 5 lb. leg of lamb (couldn't find anyhting else - it was great!) and froze the rest to use again. I doubled the beef broth since that was the amount in the container I bought. I think this was perfect with the amount of flour and oil called for in the recipe. I used a bag of Yukon Gold small potatoes (no peeling needed!) I also added 4 stalks of celery, a tsp. of caraway seed (not necessary), and a few more herbs (rosemary, oregano, basil, extra parsley, and sage - didn't have thyme, oops). Great recipe that will be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Ordinarily, I am not overly fond of stews, but this one is really great! I can't imagine cutting back on the oil and flour as another reviewer suggests though - unless you like extremely watery stew. In any case, I've made this recipe several times as is, and we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
A very tasty stew Tim! I used three tablespoons of the flour and three of the oil and it just enough to create a nice thick broth. I also added curry powder to give it a bit of a kick along with my usual garlic and onion powders. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I really enjoyed this stew, it hit the spot! I DID decrease the oil-flour mix, and it thickened up just fine without it without tasting floury. I'd suggest making it in 2 TB increments to taste, that's what I did. Slightly more time consuming, but it got me a stew that was thick without a flour taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I add some water to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The overall taste was great, will make again, but not so much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States