Tim's Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This recipe was tasting great until I added the amount of flour and oil the recipe called for to thicken. It was way too much. I would make this again, but I will add about half or maybe even less, of the flour and oil mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Ordinarily, I am not overly fond of stews, but this one is really great! I can't imagine cutting back on the oil and flour as another reviewer suggests though - unless you like extremely watery stew. In any case, I've made this recipe several times as is, and we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I add some water to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
A very tasty stew Tim! I used three tablespoons of the flour and three of the oil and it just enough to create a nice thick broth. I also added curry powder to give it a bit of a kick along with my usual garlic and onion powders. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This stew came out really good, but there are a few things that I changed or would change in the future. Most importantly, I would make a proper rue instead of the oil/flour mix. My stew had a slightly floury taste that could have been avoided if I cooked the flour a bit before adding to the stew. I also reduced the amount by half after reading previous reviews. I added a parsnip and one rib of celery to the stew as well and they both tasted great in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
this was a pretty good recipe. i did have to add more water. i really liked the parsley and thyme for the broth - it added a very nice flavor. i also peeled and cubed butternut squash and added it to the stew. it was very tastey! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The overall taste was great, will make again, but not so much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This is fabulous. I didn't use the oil, just added the flour directly because I am just that good and it was great. I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I really enjoyed this stew, it hit the spot! I DID decrease the oil-flour mix, and it thickened up just fine without it without tasting floury. I'd suggest making it in 2 TB increments to taste, that's what I did. Slightly more time consuming, but it got me a stew that was thick without a flour taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by timbertiger
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
My husband is from Ireland, so I made this as part of a traditional Irish dinner (NOT corned beef and cabbage!). He LOVED it and said it was like something that would be served in a nice restaurant in Ireland. I used half of a 5 lb. leg of lamb (couldn't find anyhting else - it was great!) and froze the rest to use again. I doubled the beef broth since that was the amount in the container I bought. I think this was perfect with the amount of flour and oil called for in the recipe. I used a bag of Yukon Gold small potatoes (no peeling needed!) I also added 4 stalks of celery, a tsp. of caraway seed (not necessary), and a few more herbs (rosemary, oregano, basil, extra parsley, and sage - didn't have thyme, oops). Great recipe that will be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States