Tim's Green Bean Casserole Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
Fantastic! What a really nice twist to green beans. I did make modifications to the recipe. I used 2 bags of frozen green beans becuase I like the taste better than canned. Also, I added 1 samll minced onion to the sour cream paste. I also added bacon to the green beans... and salt! I used fried onions to top it. Make sure that you get a good swiss cheese so that you can taste the flavor. It was a little soggy the next day but the flavor was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I've made this recipe for over twenty years with a few changes. I use frozen, french cut grean beans cooked al dente, and add 3 Tbls. sauteed, minced onion and 1/2 to 1 lb. cooked, broken bacon pieces into casserole. I've never tried the cornflake crust; I'll try it this Thanksgiving! (*Once you take this to a dinner, you'll be expected to bring it every time!) YUMMY :-)'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
First, let me say that the end result of this recipe was very good. My husband loved it. The preparation was a little strange, though. The "paste" mixture was very thick, and the melted cheese made it even thicker. I tasted this mixture before adding the green beans and thought it was a little bland, so I fried some bacon very crisp and crumbled this in with the green beans. This seemed to spice it up a little. Like I said, the final dish was good, although VERY different from your traditional green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIBOWERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I really didn't care for it and neither did my fiance. It was so rich with sour cream, swiss cheese and tons of butter (let me say that again, too much butter). We thought it was too heavy. I won't be making this again. If I could give this no stars at all I would do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
These were the best grren beans I ever ate. My husband even liked them and he doesn't eat green beans. We have made it several times for guest and it is always a hit, Thanks Tim!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This has been our family favorite for over 30 years. Melt the butter in a saucepan and add in flour, 2 tsp.salt, 1 tsp. pepper, 1 tsp. instant minced onion and 2 tsp. sugar. I use cut green beans, not the stringy french. I don't melt the Swiss cheese into the green bean mixture but layer it on top. Spread this in a 9x13 pan. For the topping I only use 1 cup of cornflake crumbs with 1/2 cup butter. Just sprinkle over the top for a light coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
Interesting twist on a holiday standard. I'd opt for a little less sour cream though, as it was almost too tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Fantastic!!!!! Very rich!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
It was wonderful!! I don't like plain green beans. This makes the beans taste wonderful. I used the French Onions on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Made this for Thanksgiving. Many people left it on their plate. It has a mushy consistancy in spite of the cornflake topping. I used swiss cheese and even used more than the recipe called for and it was still bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States