Tim's Green Bean Casserole Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Everyone loved this alternative to the "traditional" green bean casserole. I did make a small change to the topping since I didn't have any cornflakes. I used 1 cup of french fried onions then topped that with a cup of crushed buttery crackers in 3 T of melted butter. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is a show stopper! I sprinkle a little bacon on top under the corn flakes but it didn't need it. I got rave reviews and it is a nice change from the cream of mushroom variety. LOVED IT and I got raves a Christmas for it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Love it! Frozen Green beans work well as long as they are not the French style variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I carefully read all the reviews before making this dish and added onions, mushrooms and bacon to the paste. I also used fried onions instead of the cornflakes. It turned out great and I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I used frozen green beans and did not have enough (I don't use canned veggies) The flavor of the sour cream was a little overwhelming but I think that was my fault due to the shortage of green beans. Everyone seemed to like them tho. Next time I'll do it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
i loved this recipe!!! very rich, but soooo good. my family always hated it when i brought the classic green bean casserole to holidays,you know the cream of mushroom one, so this year i switched it up and they all loved it!! in fact i noticed that it was one of the first things gone on there plate! thanks tim!!!! the only thing i did different was i used fried onions instead of the cornflakes, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Served this at Thanksgiving this year and it went over very well. Substituted french-fried onions on the top since I was already making potatoes with a cornflake topping on it. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bvslds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was a big hit! They only thing I did differently was add a little cream of chicken soup to make it a little creamier. Excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I didn't know how this would turn out, but I tried it anyway for Thanksgiving. It was a huge hit. Not one bite left! I did substitute Ritz crackers for the cornflakes and next time will add the can fried onions on top. But overall, this is a great tasting dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I tried this recipe 4 years ago for the first time and have made it every Thanksgiving and Christmas since! This is a wonderful green bean casserole especially if you do not like the traditional casserole. The only thing I do different is to add salt and pepper to the mix. I always make a double batch for my HUGE family and never have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naomiwatson82

Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States