Tim Perry's Soup (Creamy Curry Cauliflower and Broccoli Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Loved this....although I made some changes....I sauteed the onion, 2 cloves of minced garlic, and some baby carrots in some evoo. Then I added 2 bunches of broccoli and a large head of cauliflower washed and cut into small pieces, added pepper, crushed thyme and a sprinkle of cayenne(didn't have any curry). I let that cook for about 5-7 minutes, then added the chicken broth(low sodium) and added an extra cup of water with a chicken boullion packet. Let that cook until the veggies were tender and then I whipped it through my food processor making sure I left some chunks for texture. Added that back to the pot, mixed 1% milk with the flour, let that thicken, adjusted the seasonings, and added 1 pk of shredded cheddar and the kernels of 1 leftover corn on the cob shaved off. (It was like I cleaned out the fridge!) What a fabulous soup!!! Nice and thick and rich with so many veggies.....even my 1 year old loved it....will make again and keep in my rotation for the fall/winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I thought this recipe was excellent. My entire family enjoyed it. Like everyone else, I made a few changes to it though. I initially sauteed the vegetables in oil to soften them. Once tender, I added my "broth." I added a total of 8 cups of "broth" - well, water, and added two chicken and one vegetable bouillon cubes. That made this soup go a lot further, and still retained the taste. I used two bunches of broccoli, and half a head of cauliflower. I also shredded in two carrots, and added 4 cloves of garlic, minced. I then used a hand blender in the pot to smooth out the soup. Next time I may leave some chunks to add a little more texture. Overall, I was very pleased with this soup, and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was fantastic soup. I made it even easier by using frozen broccoli and cauliflower. The curry was a nice touch. I'll definitely put this on a regular rotation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Really good flavor. I altered slighty since we are vegetarian, used vegetable broth and vegetable bouillon. Also added some minced garlic and chopped red pepper. Used 1/2 cup of heavy cream and 1/2 cup milk. Turned out so good!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Pretty darn good, I like the combine of the cauliflower/broccoli. I used fat free half and half instead of milk. Came out great. This will be a regular :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gila Bend, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was an interesting one. I love broccoli cheese soups, and I love curry, but I guess I just don't love them together. I thought it was a wierd combo. It also didn't get very creamy, although I let it cook awhile, hoping it would thicken. Then I pureed some of, but it just gave it a wierd flourescent green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
My husband, who does not like soup, loved this soup!! I have made twice now in the past couple of weeks as I had an abundance of cauliflower. The first time according to directions, the second as a vegetarian alternative (no chicken broth or bouillon) This is delicious - tweaked a bit due to other reviews, specifically blending everything to get a thicker texture of soup. Will pass along to others and make again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Cox Martinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was good. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers by softening the onions in some butter and I also added chopped carrots. I coursley chopped the vegetables. I took out most of the mixture (leaving some chunks) and blended it and then put it all back in the pot. I used half/half unstead of milk. Creamy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Very good soup that was enjoyed by all. Next time I will chop the vegitables in a food processor. Just think the soup will become more smooth and flavorful. Definitely increase the amount of curry for more flavor...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This is a delicious soup! I followed the directions as written but I added extra curry powder and some garam masala spice. I also pureed the soup with a hand blender because I prefer a smooth consistency. My boyfriend took some for lunch the next day and his co-workers were asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peculiah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States