Tim Perry's Soup (Creamy Curry Cauliflower and Broccoli Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is great! I added cloves of garlic and another cup or so of water. I used 1 T of curry and I added 2 cans of cannellini beans instead of the flour and milk. Since I used my immersion blender, I didn't need to chop things small which saved lots of time. Wonderfully creamy, flavorful soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Very good soup however I did add more curry and a dash of cayenne because we like spice in our house. My son loved it who nevers eats caulifower or broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I have made this soup several times now. The first time I made it as is and the kids loved the cheesyness of it...but hubby and I felt it could have used some more flavor. Since that first time I have been sauteing the onions with some garlic and diced up carrots and celery. I add 2 tsp curry powder and a tsp of garam masala to the mixture and stir in together. Then add the broth and broccoli and cauliflower. I also like to blend my soup with the immersion blender...so easy! Once blended, I find that the soup is thick enough and does not need flour to thicken it. I have used milk, cream, and evaporated milk all with great success. For a nice change I like to use coconut milk...it is really yummy. I also prefer to put the cheese on the table and let everyone serve their own amount to suit their own tastes. Overall this recipe is good as is, but for our own personal tastes I would like to add more to it! Thank you for sharing a recipe that can be tweaked to suit everyone's tastes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Wowee this was really good! But don't bother finely chopping the broccoli and cauliflower. That's what an immersion blender is for! I roughed chopped both and after they had simmered in the chicken broth for about 20 minutes I used the immersion blender on them. This was a nice little change from regular broccoli/cauliflower cheese soup. The curry was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My husband and I like this alot. Made it twice already in one month. I did add garlic and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I added couscous at the end, took it off the burner, covered and let sit for about 5 minutes. It made the soup hearty, and stretched it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have made this recipe now quite a few times and I am always asked to make it again! I add a touch of allspice to highlight the curry, and I usually bump the curry up quite a bit. But it was the first dish I have ever tried with curry in it and have loved curry since then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I have made broccoli cauliflower soup many times using different recipes and this was the best! Be sure to keep stirring after adding the flour or it will burn on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Excellent Soup! I used Patak's curry paste and omitted the cheese (too many calories for me) and it was wonderful. I added a small jalapeno pepper and sauteed all the veggies first. A pleasant change. Two bowls of soup and a lovely pumpernickel bun made a perfect late night supper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by innabar
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Very tasty. I used water instead of chicken broth and added Spike instead of bouillion cubes, and it still turned out yummy. I also used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour. Super easy to make. I used a food processor to chop the cauliflower/broccoli/onion, so that went very quickly, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States