Tilapia Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
i would suggest letting this marinate for 24 hrs. My family has made ceviche for years fish and shrimp. and that is the safest time plus it gives it a better flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
One thing I would like to add is that it should sit for at least 5 hours if the fish is raw, I personally am scared of that, so I just bring a pot of water to a boil and then add the tilapia for about 5-7 minutes until all white then drain water and shred fish and add everything else. Although I did not use the cucumber, and I like white onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I cut the recipe down to only 2 fillets and still needed just about the same amount of limes, cucumber and tomato the recipe calls for. I also added Mango for additional flavor. After resting for only an hour and twenty minutes as called for, still tasted VERY raw. Tried tasting again the next day and was much better (about 24 hrs after making) so only 3 stars in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luling, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Can't have a Ceviche without some chopped jalapeno or serrano peppers (at least not in Texas!).....and because it's raw, it really needs at least 5-8 hours in the fridge to macerate. Also, add some cooked 'salad' shrimp, and a 1/4 cup of good salsa (Pace "hot").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicked Uncle Keith

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Sounds good! I add 10 limes & 15 lemons, No tomatoe or cucumber instead I do All the color pepers & a whole bunch of cilantro & 4 cloves of garlic. As for how long it sits, that's a personal preference. But another important thing is to use a glass bowl. We eat ours with Lime flavor tortilla chips. Great summer meal & packed with protein & very low calories! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetansimple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Not bad. I definitely took the advice of another user who boiled the tilapia for about 8 min. I am not brave enough to do raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
DO NOT COOK THE FISH! Ceviche is raw seafood cooked by the acid of the citrus. If you precook it, you lose the texture and everything. You only need an hour to acid cook the fish. It is obvious that the texture changes from raw meat to not raw. This is not sashimi. I added a jalapeño too. We ate it with tortilla chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made this just as the recipe says and I was FABULOUS!!! I love raw fish, (sashimi, sushi, etc) and I thought it was just fine marinating that long. So good! I'll make this again and again. I think it's my new favorite food! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
It's delicious served over tostadas. Very good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I suggest to let marinate for al least 4 hours and, and when you chop the veggies keep them separate every one of them until ready to use it gives better flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simple mexican cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mahi Mahi Ceviche

See how to make a refreshing chilled fish salad.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States