Thumbprint Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This is a really good shortbread cookie recipe. The only change to the recipe that I made was to add a teaspoon of vanilla. For the topping, I melted semi-sweet chocolate chips and spooned it in the middle of each cookie. I also sifted the cookies with powdered sugar after done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Great recipe!!!!!!!!!!!! I added a little more sugar, eliminated the pecans, and substituted the chocolate for grape jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
My family absolutely loved them and my kids enjoyed putting on the thumbprints. My husband suggested I could also use the large side chocolate chips instead of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Delicious! I was looking for an eggless recipe as my fridge was running low on groceries and this recipe fit the bill. Cured my sweet-tooth in a bad way!! I also used Splenda instead of sugar and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
not the shortbread taste I was hoping for... more like biscuit dough than cookie dough. Would probably be better with real butter, vanilla, more sugar and less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I found these cookies to have an excellent flavor, but they were hard to shape. I added a little bit of water and that seemed to help. Next time I make them I will probably add even a little more water. These are very versatile. Instead of filling them with chocolate frosting, I filled them with peanut butter and then dunked them in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aislinn Sayers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this one late night when I couldn't sleep and was board on the internet... Its a pretty easy recipe to follow and would be fun to do with little kids, because of it ease of making (I don't have a mixer so I have to mix by hand) and not needing too many things to make it... I can understand how people can find it tastes like flour and so solve this problem I added a little vanilla, and about an extra 1/2 cup of sugar ( just free poured and tasted till it was a little sweet) I didn't add pecans because I don't usually have any on hand, so instead I put a small teaspoon of Raspberry Jam before baking them in the oven... I put them in a preheated over at 300 degrees for 10mins then took them out and let them cook on the stove off the heat of the pan. I finished them off with a light sprinkling of icing sugar. Not sure how they will turn out and if they will be a hit with the roommates as other recipes have been off this site so far but we'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McCall
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
These tasted like flour. I frosted them and they still tasted like four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I replaced the sugar with Splenda. I found the dough to be a bit dry with the recipe as written, but adding a little butter or subtracting a little flower solved this problem. I also used sugar free raspberry jam instead of chocolate. They taste great, and mine came to about 60 cals a piece!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I did not use nuts and used blackberry preserves instead of chocolate. Not very sweet at all. Oh and added vanilla flavoring too. Most likely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States