Thumbprint Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
My family absolutely loved them and my kids enjoyed putting on the thumbprints. My husband suggested I could also use the large side chocolate chips instead of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Great recipe!!!!!!!!!!!! I added a little more sugar, eliminated the pecans, and substituted the chocolate for grape jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Great recipe! totally easy! added it to my christmas cookie rep. and gave it as gifts! You could use your favourite icings or jams to switch it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
easy and everyone that tried them loved them, i also put choclate icing in the thumbprints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
These tasted like flour. I frosted them and they still tasted like four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Delicious! I was looking for an eggless recipe as my fridge was running low on groceries and this recipe fit the bill. Cured my sweet-tooth in a bad way!! I also used Splenda instead of sugar and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
These are great to make with kids. My husband loves them because they're not too sweet and they're so simple. The batch size is small enough that we make them frequently. My 4-year-old loves to make the thumbprint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I made this recipe this evening, well something very similar. My version called for 1cup butter, 1 cup sugar, 2 cups flour, 1/2tsp salt, 1/2tsp baking powder and 1tsp vanilla. Pulse all in food procesor until like pie crust. (Normaly you would add chocolate chips and press into a 9x13 pan. That didnt work for me either...it badly stuck to the pan even after greasing it.) I attempted to use my version and make thumb prints (with choclate chips in the print)...Well those didn't turn out so hot either, they spread out like pancakes while baking, they did not hold their shape at all and look like no thumb print was never made. Can anyone help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Yum. I have made them several time. Easy and quick. turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
im not sure if i did something wrong. but these tasted like flour. and were extremely hard. i was making these for a bake sale at my sisters school. i made sure not to put my name on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evilsavy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States