Thumbprint Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this one late night when I couldn't sleep and was board on the internet... Its a pretty easy recipe to follow and would be fun to do with little kids, because of it ease of making (I don't have a mixer so I have to mix by hand) and not needing too many things to make it... I can understand how people can find it tastes like flour and so solve this problem I added a little vanilla, and about an extra 1/2 cup of sugar ( just free poured and tasted till it was a little sweet) I didn't add pecans because I don't usually have any on hand, so instead I put a small teaspoon of Raspberry Jam before baking them in the oven... I put them in a preheated over at 300 degrees for 10mins then took them out and let them cook on the stove off the heat of the pan. I finished them off with a light sprinkling of icing sugar. Not sure how they will turn out and if they will be a hit with the roommates as other recipes have been off this site so far but we'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This is a really good shortbread cookie recipe. The only change to the recipe that I made was to add a teaspoon of vanilla. For the topping, I melted semi-sweet chocolate chips and spooned it in the middle of each cookie. I also sifted the cookies with powdered sugar after done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
im not sure if i did something wrong. but these tasted like flour. and were extremely hard. i was making these for a bake sale at my sisters school. i made sure not to put my name on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evilsavy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Yum. I have made them several time. Easy and quick. turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I made this recipe this evening, well something very similar. My version called for 1cup butter, 1 cup sugar, 2 cups flour, 1/2tsp salt, 1/2tsp baking powder and 1tsp vanilla. Pulse all in food procesor until like pie crust. (Normaly you would add chocolate chips and press into a 9x13 pan. That didnt work for me either...it badly stuck to the pan even after greasing it.) I attempted to use my version and make thumb prints (with choclate chips in the print)...Well those didn't turn out so hot either, they spread out like pancakes while baking, they did not hold their shape at all and look like no thumb print was never made. Can anyone help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
These are great to make with kids. My husband loves them because they're not too sweet and they're so simple. The batch size is small enough that we make them frequently. My 4-year-old loves to make the thumbprint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Delicious! I was looking for an eggless recipe as my fridge was running low on groceries and this recipe fit the bill. Cured my sweet-tooth in a bad way!! I also used Splenda instead of sugar and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
These tasted like flour. I frosted them and they still tasted like four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
easy and everyone that tried them loved them, i also put choclate icing in the thumbprints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Great recipe! totally easy! added it to my christmas cookie rep. and gave it as gifts! You could use your favourite icings or jams to switch it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States