Thumbprint Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I tried this recipe, and the cookies flattened!! If there is anything I may need to do different, please let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
I made these and rolled them in colored sugar and filled with matching frosting. I can't tell you how many people have requested the recipe, thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
These were so easy, my children ages 13,10,8,7 made themselves and gave them out as goodie gifts for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chelsea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahiswright
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Fantastic! These are just like mom used to make. They are melt-in-your-mouth good. Since the recipe doesn't tell you how many or what kind of nuts to use, I find that 2 c. finely chopped pecans works great. I filled them with vanilla frosting dyed red and green for Christmas and they were delicious and pretty to look at! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
These are very good cookies! I needed to add a little more flour so they were not sticky to roll, and filled the cookies with the jam before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These are, hands down, my favorite Christmas cookies. Light and buttery and not overly sweet which makes filling them with tinted sugar cookie frosting perfect. I don't think the egg white dip is necessary if your nuts are chopped finely enough, especially if using walnuts which are fairly moist after you chop them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is a very good tasting and easy recipe. I did find out that you really don't need to dip them in the egg whites. I made my first batch dipping them and rolling sprinkles on the edges it was an ugly mess . so i tried rolling the dough into a log after chilling it for about a half hour than just rolling the log in sprinkles and slicing them into about half inch cookies it worked out so much bettter and they look really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Fabulous! I rolled the cookies in chopped pecans and filled with raspberry jam! Everyone who tried them LOVED them! I also did a batch with chopped walnuts - they were good too, but not nearly as good as with the pecans. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to compare to cookies a co-worker used to make. These looked really close so I decided to try. I'm glad I did; however, it does need about 1/4 to 1/2 cup more flour otherwise they are very sticky and hard to roll. I just scooped out with a small ice cream scoop (after a failed attempt to roll) and indented as directed. They came out perfect! I added almond flavoring to plain white canned frosting...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensett, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Yummy, Yummy, Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States