Thumbprint Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I was hesitant at first from the other reviews. I made these and they turned out great. I added just a dollop of milk because the batter seemed very dry when mixing. Then the batter seemed too soft when I was done mixing. However, they tasted great. They were a tiny bit crumbly but thats ok. I'll definitely make them again. I also used walnuts instead of pecans because I like them better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This is a better recipe that one I have used for years. I did bake these cookies a bit longer, but my oven is slightly cooler that it should be. I like the idea of baking the cookies a bit then adding the jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Yea! This is the same recipe my mother used to make when I was little! Fantastic cookie, looks lovely for gifts. I don't use apricot, I use strawberry, or hershey kisses. You can also leave the nuts off for those who cannot have them/don't like them. Thank you for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These cookies are delish!! Making them was a breeze!! My kids loved them and I will definately be making them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I grew up w/ this recipe as a family Holiday favorite. We didn't fill the thumbprints with jam until after the cookie was fully baked which was @ 325 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown on the bottom. This recipe does not make very many, so I usually increase the ingredients x2 or x4 for gift giving. We use a variety of jams to fill the thumbprints and the cookies looked like little multi colored jeweled tasties on the serving plate. The jams varieties we use are strawberry, blackberry, raspberry, apricot or peach, grape, and orange marmalade. Not sure why people are having a problem, maybe the butter was too soft or melted. Dough should be soft but able to roll into balls without sticking. Try refrigerating the dough if too soft to form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
thanx for this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dr.Marwa
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This recipe is easy ,quick and delicious. I followed what is written except that i didn't take it out to do the thumbprints, I did them just before the baking takes place. I dont have the pecan so I used sesame you can see my cookies , I uploaded the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This is the exact recipe we used growing up. only instead of putting them in the oven and taking them out etc.. we did our thumbprints before baking and then baked the whole time and when they cooled just a little we added hersheys kisses to the center..don't cool too much or the kisses will not stick to the cookies, you want the bottom to melt just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Thanks alot..now I have to slave in the kitchen and make more of these delicious cookies;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is the recipe that I have used since a child from the Betty Crocker Cookie Cookbook. However, my recipe calls for 1/2 shortening (like Crisco) so I think that helps keep them from melting too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States