Thumbprint Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This is the exact recipe we used growing up. only instead of putting them in the oven and taking them out etc.. we did our thumbprints before baking and then baked the whole time and when they cooled just a little we added hersheys kisses to the center..don't cool too much or the kisses will not stick to the cookies, you want the bottom to melt just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Not sure what went wrong, since I followed the recipe exactly for as long as I could, but this was a sticky disaster. The dough was more like batter -- it was loose and didn't shape at all. I was never able to make the depression with my thumb, so theh finished product never got the jam. All I taste is the pecans. Not worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This is a better recipe that one I have used for years. I did bake these cookies a bit longer, but my oven is slightly cooler that it should be. I like the idea of baking the cookies a bit then adding the jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Yea! This is the same recipe my mother used to make when I was little! Fantastic cookie, looks lovely for gifts. I don't use apricot, I use strawberry, or hershey kisses. You can also leave the nuts off for those who cannot have them/don't like them. Thank you for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
they were thin and fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Thanks alot..now I have to slave in the kitchen and make more of these delicious cookies;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I made these with a child and she decided to skip the egg white/nut step. I added an extra tablespoon of flour and refrigerated the dough for 20 minutes before shaping. We baked these at 350 and got 21 small delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
The dough tasted good raw, but during the baking process, I saw my cookies turn to a dripping mess of butter. The cookies were flat, the thumbprint made before hand gone away. After removing them from the oven (they all melted into one another) I tried to rescue them by making another thumbprint. What a mess. Horrible. Ive had these before, and they were good. Mustve been a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
They were good...I just can't bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerseegrl68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Angier, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I make these all the time and they are easy and come out great - not sure why some people seem to have a problem with this recipe. I use plain granulated sugar and my recipe calls for 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1 tbsp water (add with the egg yolk). I also use apricot jam for half, and raspberry for the other half to make them more colorful. The cookie comes out light and delicate - a nice change from the shortbead type thumbprints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States