Thumbprint Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
These are soooooo good! I make them every few weeks, I double the recipe and they're gone in less than a day. Cooking does take much longer, at least 25 minutes in total. This is what I do for double recipe: I grind 1 cup of walnuts, add half a cup of almond meal, then use half of it for rolling and add the other half to the dough (taking half a cup of flower out). I don't make very small cooking, because I like to use round measuring spoon instead of my thumb (1. Tsp size), this way I don't burn my finger and prints come out uniform, then use the same spoon to fill up the cookies. Yuuuuum! I think I'll be making them today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
if dough is stickier than expected, don't add more flour to it. didn't try rolling it in walnuts: do u really need all of the egg whites? try with peanut butter next time if too sweet. really good if u have extras (easily puts away in freezer to take out at another time to put jam on and eat). cost: 2$ jar of jam (you only use 1/4 cup not even)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Zhou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Delicious! I like cookies more buttery than sweet, so these suit me perfectly. I follow the recipe but use whole wheat flour, which I prefer, and about double the amount of nuts called for. The first time I did as directed (rolling balls of dough in egg white and nuts) but found the process rather messy. The next time I experimented by mixing some nuts into the dough and dropping it by spoonfuls onto the baking sheet. I then used a small paintbrush to apply the egg white and shape the cookies a bit, then sprinkled the rest of the nuts on top. That worked fine as well. I finish with cream cheese frosting instead of jam. Baking note: My oven doesn't go below 180ºC (a little over 350ºF) and I find the cookies need 12-13 minutes' bake time nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
There need to be too many alterations. Add more sugar to dough,and something a little more to bind it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Cookies were runny, I baked them an extra few minutes at 300 and when I tried to make an indentation they fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is a Christmas favorite. We used it in an old cookie book and when I moved out I couldn't remember the entire thing and this is it. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
These were great. I did chill the dough before rolling them. I also doubled the recipe because it doesn't make many. I did double the cooking time after applying the jelly and still could have used another minute, but they were great. Used strawberry and raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lips_of_fury
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I opted for the 36 cookie recipe. since it called for room temp butter, it did give the cookies a drop batter consistency. I remedied this by altering a few things. to start, I did add whole eggs. I used a cup of sugar and a cup of brown sugar, I also used 4 or 4 1/2 cups flour. I don't remember. I did chill the dough, but not until after I formed the balls for the first batch. I put it in for five minutes, then to make the "thumbprint " I sprayed the back of a measuring tablespoon with Pam. I'm obviously going to get more than 36 cookies, but they are yummy. I still haven't found the right amount of time for the jelly to set, I've been using 8 minutes after adding jelly, but I am making bigger cookies. oh, p.s. to roll the first batch I did rub a small amount of crisco on my hands to avoid sticking, but after you chill it while baking, you won't need the crisco again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as directed. The cookies were much too big for my taste, and no where near being cooked through in the stated time. The flavor and texture was very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I made this for a Christmas cookie swap using whole wheat flour (it was all I had) and strawberry preserves. They were my mom's favorite cookie and she's no liar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States