Thumbprint Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Delicious! I like cookies more buttery than sweet, so these suit me perfectly. I follow the recipe but use whole wheat flour, which I prefer, and about double the amount of nuts called for. The first time I did as directed (rolling balls of dough in egg white and nuts) but found the process rather messy. The next time I experimented by mixing some nuts into the dough and dropping it by spoonfuls onto the baking sheet. I then used a small paintbrush to apply the egg white and shape the cookies a bit, then sprinkled the rest of the nuts on top. That worked fine as well. I finish with cream cheese frosting instead of jam. Baking note: My oven doesn't go below 180ºC (a little over 350ºF) and I find the cookies need 12-13 minutes' bake time nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
There need to be too many alterations. Add more sugar to dough,and something a little more to bind it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Cookies were runny, I baked them an extra few minutes at 300 and when I tried to make an indentation they fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is a Christmas favorite. We used it in an old cookie book and when I moved out I couldn't remember the entire thing and this is it. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
These were great. I did chill the dough before rolling them. I also doubled the recipe because it doesn't make many. I did double the cooking time after applying the jelly and still could have used another minute, but they were great. Used strawberry and raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lips_of_fury
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I opted for the 36 cookie recipe. since it called for room temp butter, it did give the cookies a drop batter consistency. I remedied this by altering a few things. to start, I did add whole eggs. I used a cup of sugar and a cup of brown sugar, I also used 4 or 4 1/2 cups flour. I don't remember. I did chill the dough, but not until after I formed the balls for the first batch. I put it in for five minutes, then to make the "thumbprint " I sprayed the back of a measuring tablespoon with Pam. I'm obviously going to get more than 36 cookies, but they are yummy. I still haven't found the right amount of time for the jelly to set, I've been using 8 minutes after adding jelly, but I am making bigger cookies. oh, p.s. to roll the first batch I did rub a small amount of crisco on my hands to avoid sticking, but after you chill it while baking, you won't need the crisco again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as directed. The cookies were much too big for my taste, and no where near being cooked through in the stated time. The flavor and texture was very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I made this for a Christmas cookie swap using whole wheat flour (it was all I had) and strawberry preserves. They were my mom's favorite cookie and she's no liar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is an all time favorite for the holidays, always reminds me of the season. If you have little ones double the recipe or you'll be left out, like the grinch that stole Christmas, your lill ones will steal all of the thumb prints!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
They get a little dry, but I really liked they're not that sweet, which is perfectly compensated with the jam filling. Very easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caromaple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States