Three Sisters Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I debated on adding spices, I was worries it would be bland. Im glad I didnt! This soup was fantastic the way it is written. I did do a few alterations to make it vegan though, used vegetarian broth and olive oil. Fantastic, will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKYSIMONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Desfosses-Gast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klemme, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I thought this nice and comforting; a lovely fall soup. I can see where it would benefit from the addition of spices (and I love using all sorts of spices) but I enjoyed it without any additions other than increasing the black pepper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
DELISH! followed the recipe and used a slow cooker as another reviewer suggested FABULOUS! Yummo! A great comfort harvest soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This splendid recipe is an example of how a few simple ingredients can blend together to achieve a truly greater flavor, taste, texture and quality than the sum of its parts. Three Sisters (corn, squash and beans) is a divine soup for Thanksgiving, particularly because it is handed down from the Iroquois Indians. What's not to love??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casa Hice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
We make this soup often with some modifications. We are vegan so we omit the butter and use veggie bouillon. We use an emersion blender on 2/3 of the soup eliminating the need for flour altogether. I often add onions and garlic for flavor. If the need arises this is a great soup to throw in all your veggies that need to be eaten right away. Thanks for a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Reese Nagel
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This is a good recipe for a mom trying to go vegetarian with a family that insists on meat. I just added cooked 97% reduced fat breakfast sausage after I gave my self a vegetarian portion. I also used pumpkin instead of butternut squash because that's what we had in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Even better than expected! Delicious and nearly all 7 members of my family liked it! Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mishawheee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Made this to go with Thanksgiving dinner. Best soup I've had in years. I tweaked it a little by adding some garlic, carrots and chicken stock in addition to the boullion. I actually replaced the water with the stock. Hands down, this soup has been added to my Thanksgiving dinner list to use year after year. I've never been a fan of Butternut Squash but thanks to this soup I love it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
We were surprised at how much we liked this soup. The ingredients seemed to be an odd grouping but the flavors worked very well together. We did add a little more butter than it called for and it made it even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States