Three Pepper Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Most Excellent with Sausage too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
The pan was totally dried out before the rice was cooked and the peppers were added. I did add more chicken stock out of necessity and the resulting dish was just bland. A lot of work for big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I chaned a few things to suite what I had on hand. I left out the tumeric and the fresh mushrooms (wish I had them though). I boiled the chicken thighs in water adding seasonings to it. I used that water for the broth. I forgot to add the onion to the chicken while it was boiling, so I sauteed the onions when the directions said to sautee the mushrooms. I did have to cook my rice longer to get it tender and ended up covering the pan. I added the tomatoes on top so they wouldn't get mushy. I also added some frozen green peas at the tend. Tasted very good and was easily prepared on a busy weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
As is, it's super super bland. I mean, the assortment of veggies is great and all...not much processed junk here. But the flavor is very, very subtle. I tried it after I made it, and then ended up adding in a whole bunch of other spices that show up in other recipes using turmeric, garlic, tomatoes, and chicken broth. So to sum up: pros: good veggies. Cons: super bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candlebat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missjingleighpoo5
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I did not put mushrooms in because not everyone likes them. It was very good! I used these really great chicken tender pieces instead of breasts and they shred very nicely after being boiled. Could have maybe used a little more turmeric for I could only taste it sometimes. Next time I might leave out the green peppers, the green ones here tend to be really bitter. So other than the disappointing green peppers, this dish was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missjingleighpoo5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I was looking for a vegetable dense side dish. This was exactly the Pilaf I was looking for!! The only changes I made were the omission of chicken and turmeric. I didn't put chicken because I had a main dish of chicken to go with this, and I didn't put turmeric, because who the heck knows what that even is!!!! Thank you for this great recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethStrate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I got so many compliments on this! We finished it off in no time it was so good! I use brown rice which I cooked in chickn broth or stock, boiled chicken breast in chicken stock/ broth (sometimes I use the leftover stock from boiling the chicken to cook the rice in so we don't waste anything!), and instead of the tomatoes I use a can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes cause I had it on hand. (I think that was what made it really good.) I also added a couple diced jalapenos cause I like it hot! Garnish with cheese, or sour cream, or AVACADO! MMMM! Thank you for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boyd, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I made this for the first time and I'm not really a "try new things" person, it was FANTASTIC! my 2 year old loved it...not too spicy, not too bland. It was so delicious. I just bolied the chicken all day long in the broth and spices. At the end, I added all the other stuff until it was ready...Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Considering all the fresh vegestables in this recipe, I was expecting a very flavorful dish. Although it smelled good, I found this to be vitually tasteless. It also required a fair amount of prep work due to all the chopping. The portions are also very large and I'm not sure what to do with all the leftovers as no one in my family liked this dish. This recipe just didn't work for my family and I won't be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
It took quite a bit of time and effort to make but was worth it, though i wouldn't make it every week. Lovely mix of flavours and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States