Three Pepper Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
soooo delicious and easy to customize with what you have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This came out way too watery since the red pepper exuded extra moisture. I added more basil and also added garlic for flavor. It's a good idea, fundamentally, but the recipe has to be tweaked in order to achieve the proper consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I first made the recipe as written and it wasn't entirely to my liking. After adding more fresh basil (I nearly doubled it), a clove of garlic, salt, a bit more crushed red pepper, and a few pine nuts, it was delicious! With the modifications, I'd give it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
LOVE this recipe! I've used it in a couple of different ways and think each is better than the last! Great to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I followed the recipe as given, but forgot to put in the black pepper. It still came out great. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This a great spin on traditional pesto's. I did not have the fresh basil and so used dried (about 1/8 of a cup), used chili powder as I did not have red pepper flakes on hand, added 1 clove of garlic as suggested and used a whole red pepper. I blended all the ingredients together and added small amounts of olive oil till it was to the consistency i wanted. Severed over chicken and pasta. It was well recieved by my husband and young boys. Will make it again this summer when I have fresh basil. This is a good pesto recipie for those who can't have nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockway, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I added more red pepper and had to add more olive oil to get the right consistency. Good on bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Great recipe! Made it up and served it with a variety of crackers. After tasting, following recipe exactly, I added two table. pine nuts, just because I like them. I then blended it altogether until smooth. Delicious. This would be great as a condiment for sandwiches (chicken or turkey perhaps, and definitely on grilled portobella mushroom sandwiches). Also good served over baked potatoes. Very easy to make. If you like it hotter, add more of the hot red pepper flakes or some hot sauce. As is, it was perfect for my tastes. Would also be good with a little onion added to it, or if you like garlic a bit of garlic. You don't want to lose the pepper taste, however. The freshness of the vegetable really shines through in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Chef John's Almond Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States