Three Pepper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
My husband and I both loved this recipe. We will definitely be having this meal often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
My husband and I liked this one--low cal and full of flavor. I used seasoned bread crumbs in place of the crackers, so I should've used seasoned salt on the chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Thought this was a wonderful recipe. My son is on a low carb diet for football training and I just put a bit of the saltines on his. Added a bit more chicken broth and flour (for 4) and was just great! Also added a bit of tobasco sauce when cooking the peppers. Didn't need anything else but I might serve a green salad with it next time. Absolutely tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
My husband and I really liked this recipe. I too used seasoned bread crumbs (because that is what I had), and I added more seasoning to both the bread crumbs and the gravy. I also had to add extra butter, but overall we thought it was great and I will make it again! Thanks Shirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This recipe was absolutely delicious! I adjusted the recipe to be a little less healthy. :) I used an egg instead of the egg substitute and a lot of extra butter when cooking. I also substituted Italian bread crumbs for the saltine crackers and Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
My husband is allergic to beef and pork products. That means that finding new things to do with chicken is always a plus. While searching for something other than the same ole same ole, I happened across this recipe and decided to give it a whirl. Overall, this recipe is wonderful. It not only has a good flavor but it also ends up being a very beautiful dish to look at. In fact, my husband and I almost didn't eat it because it was too pretty. If you are accustomed to spices in your food, I would recommend adding a healthy dose to this recipe. While the flavor of the chicken and peppers is tasty, for those of us that love spicy food - it needs a little something more. I used an orange pepper instead of yellow and I served it over a bed of no-yolk wide egg noodles with a splash of butter and salt. It was delicious! I'll definitely be making this one again - with LOTS of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This is a tasty chicken dish that is great for a family meal, but I wouldn't serve it to company. It's quick and easy to prepare, but does require some tweaking. I used 2 chicken breasts but doubled all the other ingredients. I didn't have saltines so used bread crumbs mixed with a heaping teaspoon each of basil and oregano, 1/2 teaspoon each of seasoned salt and garlic powder. I also added 1/2 cup dry white wine to the sauce. I had to add more butter when browning the chicken. I'll definitely make this again as we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
This is really good, but only if you actually use about 3 or 4 tablespoons of butter. 1 1/2 tbl does not do the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by earthchickie
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
The dish turned out ok, with a few changes. It doesn't say to season the veggies, and I forgot but they tasted yummy w/o. I used bread crumbs mixed w/ italian herbs and Vegeta seasoning. I just added a bit of sauce on top of the peppers. The sauce needs some more seasoning this way though. I served it with quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
While this is very good, it does need some tweaking for next time. Even though the chicken is covered in saltines, it still needs more salt, as do the veggies. I cooked the veggies in only 1/2 T. butter. I added the rest to cook the chicken, not just brown it. The butter wasn't really enough, but I was using a non-stick pan, so it was fine. Next time, I will double the chicken broth and flour since it really wasn't enough to even moisten the pasta I topped it with. Then it might not qualify for a healthy MyPlate recipe, but it will taste better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States