Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
2 thumbs up! Of all the slow cooker roast recipes I have tried... there have been many due to my hectic schedule, this is by far the easiest and most tasty. I added quartered potatoes and baby carrots to the cooker to complete this meal. The coloring of the veggies due to the packet mixes were inviting. The flavor was exceptional. Thanks for such a keeper killer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gas City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
4 stars for ease of preparation. I have been making versions of this roast for years. It can be made with 1 can beef broth instead of the gravy mix and water; water & gravy- or broth-, and Italian dressing mix; or 2 pkg Italian dressing mix, beef broth -or water & gravy mix-; any combination works. The sodium content will vary with what you end up using. It falls apart so you can easily shred for sandwiches. Also I've made with top or bottom round for less fat. I usually fix mashed potatoes with it and don't salt them. Leftover beef and juices are good for beginnings of soup next day- refrigerate and then skim off the fat that has hardened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
My father in law made this same roast. Really good. I always braise the meat before I add it to the crockpot and add a sliced onion or two. Phenom gravy and really good over garlic/rosemary mashed potatoes. NOTE: If the inclination takes, you can use lemon-lime soda instead of the water. Also, if you're pinching pennies, this also works with stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Couldn't find Italian packet, so substituted 1/2 cup Italian salad dressing and omitted 1/2 cup of the water to compensate... Delish! I will never make slow cooker roast any other way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Photo by TMCKASUN
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I made this for dinner last night (we were having a potluck kinda thing... I made this beef for sandwiches). I only changed one thing and added another. Instead of water I used beef broth. I added 1 George Killians Irish Red beer in for flavor. Holy Ale this was the most tender beef roast w/incredible flavor! Everyone fell head over heels for this! :) I of course directed them to this site! Always find gems here! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMCKASUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Really easy and the kids loved it. Chuck can be a bit fatty, so I strained the grease out of the "sauce" after cooking and before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Instead of the water, I use a can of beef broth and add a sliced onion. Truly delicious... my family always goes crazy for this. They like it over egg noodles as opposed to adding taters and I'll usually add carrots to the mix. Great recipe, Kerstin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this tonight. I've been making roasts in my crock pot or pressure cooker forever with the same old boring onion soup mix, so when I saw this recipe it got my attention as being "different". It went over so well, that I won't ever make it any other way. I was concerned about it being too salty so I used McCormick reduced sodium brown gravy mix and did not season the meat with salt. I would highly suggest this because it was plenty salty enough with this adjustment. I also wanted to make sure the gravy wasn't too thin so I coated the beef with flour, browned it and added an additional tablespoon of flour to the spice/water mixture. To my dismay, the "gravy" was like water when the roast was done. I removed the meat to a plate, covered with foil, and let it rest while I proceeded with making gravy out of the liquid. I cranked the crock pot up to high and did something I normally wouldn't have done, but I was way too lazy to make a gravy out of the normal flour roux. I mixed about 1 tablespoon of cornstarch with about 2-3 tablespoons water in a bowl until dissolved and smooth, whisked it into the liquid in crock pot, covered it and let it go for about 10 minutes. Worked famously. The kids and husband tore this up and when they were done, they were already talking about leftovers for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Well....I reviewed this before it was published, but they didn't move my review! SO, here you go again! WONDERFUL! This recipe is the BEST Roast I have ever had! I have made it several times, and it's always perfect! I have used the packets on chicken also, and it turned out really good, and used just the italian dressing/water on a pork tenderloin for pulled pork and it was great, but I will NEVER cook a roast any other way! Thanks Kerstin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was good. The meat was very moist and tender. The flavor was good, but not "Wow." I added potatoes to it and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States