Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was truly delicious. The whole family liked it. Here's what's good: 1) It makes its own gravy; there is nothing to do but serve once you get home from work or running errands. 2) The gravy is a lovely deep brown. 3) The gravy is neither too thick nor too thin. 4) The gravy is complex (likely from the Italian salad dressing mix), unlike standard corn starch gravies that you make yourself or pour from a can or jar--yet neither is it too herby-y. 5) No pre-browning of the meat. Browning is a wonderful thing, yes. But with this recipe it's not necessary. Besides, pre-browning messes up your stove with oil splatter and creates another item that has to be washed. I don't miss it! 6) This recipe is so easy that I handed it to my retired husband, and he was able to make it without the aid of my usual long list of instructions. Now that's easy. 7) I worried it would be too salty; it was not at all. 8) I worried it would be too commercial tasting: it was not at all. 9) The meat is fork tender and infused with flavor. Tips: Cut any visible fat from the meat before you cook it, otherwise that fat will render directly into your gravy. Resist the temptation to use more than 1 cup of water; it's not necessary. I used 2.75 lb chuck roast on low for 6 hours. Perfect, absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This was so easy and had a really good flavor! Used leftovers to make beef stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I would have given it a better rating but it was just too salty for my husband and I. All those packed have too much sodium. I cooked it the stated time and it was a little tough. Will have to go back to the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I always read reviews for advise on tweaking and changes based on others who have tried the dish. So what I did was based on others advice. I used the Ranch & Italian packs as a dry rub. Seared the roast in olive oil till brown on both sides. Then I mixed the brown gravy (I bought the low sodium brown gravy mix)in with a big 24 oz can of beer. The flavor of this roast was like none I have ever had before. This will be my go-to recipe now when I serve roast! It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Making this today. Made it before and it was TO DIE FOR for sure. Today I'm using a better cut of beef as my hubby is asking for Traditional Roast Beef with Mashed Potatoes and Mushroom Gravy. "Boneless Bottom Round Beef Roast" is what I'm using. Steamed Broccoli with Cheese Sauce and Crescent Rolls. Now That is an Old Fashion Sunday Dinner which I haven't made in a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nailbiter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I really was not that impressed with this dish. My husband ended up finishing this. It's edible but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My brother made this for dinner tonight and it was outstanding! He used a bottom round roast and added an extra cup of water. During the last 3 hours of cooking time he added cubed potatoes, sliced carrots, fresh string beans and sliced celery. He cooked on low for 9 hours. The meat was fork-tender. He made gravy with the juices and it was out of this world. Definitely a keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I made this for the dinner the other night and it is probably the best roast I've ever made! I had two chuck roasts (totaled 5lbs.) so I simply increased the water an added about another half packet of the brown gravy. Also, because of the increase in weight of my roast, I cooked on high for about 3 of the 8 hours. Finally, it was not too salty at all as others have commented. This one is a keeper and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
It had a nice flavor but was way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is as easy as it gets, and it is really delicious! I brown my roast before I put it in the slow cooker. If it's handy, I replace the water with beef broth, but it's just fine with the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Young

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States