Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
We followed the recipe to a T but weren't impressed. a bit salty, the flavor was ok but one serving was enough.~ won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
this came out sooooooo good! the leftovers make a great hot roast beef sandwich, too! hubby suggested onions, so I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indigrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Oh my. I love this so much. Would never eat a roast any other way. Makes great sliders too. I made it exactly like the recipes states and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
It was very salty. I'm going to try using my own slices for those dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Churchville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I TRIED THIS RECIPE BECAUSE IT LOOKED WONDERFUL AND WAS VERY EASY TO MAKE..................BUT........... IT IS TOO SALTY...SO I WILL BE LOOKING FOR A SIMILAR VERSION WITH LESS SALT....DELICIOUS GRAVY ON SMASHED YUKON GOLD POTATOES....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Made this in the crock pot for Sunday dinner....EVERYONE loved it! I immediately called my sister and told her to plan on it for one of the nights of vacation dinners. I know she will love it too! And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Added the extra 1/2 cup water as recommended by others but had to make a "slurry" with flour and water to thicken the gravy. The roast was tender but the kitchen had an odd smell from the seasoning packets. In fact, the gravy had a funky taste from the combination of spices and a bit af an aftertaste. Will stick with the Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast recipe from this site---much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I'm rating this 5 stars for flavor and ease but I have to admit that I used it as a base recipe to make beef stew. I cut a 2.5 lb chuck roast into cubes for stew and seared them in a Dutch oven with about 2 Tbl. olive oil. Then I removed the beef and added about 4 cups of chopped carrots, onion, celery, a couple cloves of garlic and a pound of quartered button mushrooms. I cooked that all in the beef drippings for about 10 minutes and then added the beef back in along with the packaged seasonings and 1 cup of water called for in the recipe and then enough more water to cover. I did sub onion soup mix for the gravy mix because I didn't have the gravy as a couple other reviewers suggested. I also added about 1/2 to 3/4 cups of burgundy wine. I simmered this for about 4 hours over low and then thickened the gravy with about 1/3 cup of flour mixed into 1/2 cup of water. We ate it with mashed potatoes but egg noodles or rice would also be great. I have to say this was the best tasting beef stew I have ever made and the flavor is amazing. The next time I make pot roast I will definitely be using this recipe for it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Friends happened to drop by and I got loads of compliments from the family and visitors. Meat was not at all dry (without searing)! The cost of the mix packets was worth the ease of preparation...I will look for bulk/sale season packets. The broth made an excellent gravy but was extremely salty/rich, so beware of adding seasoning. I made a double batch of mashed potatoes and used the leftover gravy and potatoes to make shephard's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Made this today. It smelled divine. I will admit I also added a splash of red wine, but didn't mess with it otherwise. Very tasty, very tender. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States