Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
tried this recipe last weekend, and I had some reservations about the sodium content, it came out awesome. I added NO salt to it, and it was perfectly seasoned and the gravy was out of this world. I only made some very minor adjustment, such as adding quartered red potatoes and some diced baby carrot, also added some thick sliced Vidalia onion to the bottom of the crock pot for the meat to rest on. It was a hit with family and friends, and used the leftovers shredded on toasted rolls for sandwiches. All in all, a great quick recipe to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I also have been making this roast for years (almost 20!) When I first saw this recipe, it did *not* sound like it would be good at all - but the cookbook I got it from promised it would be amazing, and it IS! A few words of advice, though - I've tried adding carrots to the crock pot, but I don't care for how it changes the flavor of the gravy, so I cook them separately if I make them. I usually make mashed potatoes, or potatoes quartered and cooked with the roast, though, to show off this gravy! Also, I've used both store brands & the brand name mixes, and the only thing I'd recommend is if you do use the cheaper brands, splurge to get the Hidden Valley Ranch brand dressing - that one really makes a difference if you use a cheaper brand. Lastly, you *can't* substitute already made dressings for any of the mixes - it does NOT come out tasting the same, so don't waste your money trying that. You won't like it, you'll be disappointed in this recipe, and will have wasted your money buying the other packets. (I speak from experience! lol I don't know why it doesn't work, but it doesn't.) You've GOT to try this at least *once*! You'll love it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is a keeper. I subbed beef broth for the water. We always like to have extra gravy, so I doubled the broth and brown gravy mix but left everything else the same. I added carrots to the bottom of the crock pot. This roast and gravy had wonderful flavor and was a cinch to prepare. Thanks for sharing, Kerstin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
BY FAR the best crock pot receiepe out there. It is super easy and mine turned out to have more of a glaze to it. I cooked it for 8 hours on low. My husband had FOUR servings of it!! I will be making this again and loved it so much, I would like to make it again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was truly delicious. The whole family liked it. Here's what's good: 1) It makes its own gravy; there is nothing to do but serve once you get home from work or running errands. 2) The gravy is a lovely deep brown. 3) The gravy is neither too thick nor too thin. 4) The gravy is complex (likely from the Italian salad dressing mix), unlike standard corn starch gravies that you make yourself or pour from a can or jar--yet neither is it too herby-y. 5) No pre-browning of the meat. Browning is a wonderful thing, yes. But with this recipe it's not necessary. Besides, pre-browning messes up your stove with oil splatter and creates another item that has to be washed. I don't miss it! 6) This recipe is so easy that I handed it to my retired husband, and he was able to make it without the aid of my usual long list of instructions. Now that's easy. 7) I worried it would be too salty; it was not at all. 8) I worried it would be too commercial tasting: it was not at all. 9) The meat is fork tender and infused with flavor. Tips: Cut any visible fat from the meat before you cook it, otherwise that fat will render directly into your gravy. Resist the temptation to use more than 1 cup of water; it's not necessary. I used 2.75 lb chuck roast on low for 6 hours. Perfect, absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This was so easy and had a really good flavor! Used leftovers to make beef stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I would have given it a better rating but it was just too salty for my husband and I. All those packed have too much sodium. I cooked it the stated time and it was a little tough. Will have to go back to the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I always read reviews for advise on tweaking and changes based on others who have tried the dish. So what I did was based on others advice. I used the Ranch & Italian packs as a dry rub. Seared the roast in olive oil till brown on both sides. Then I mixed the brown gravy (I bought the low sodium brown gravy mix)in with a big 24 oz can of beer. The flavor of this roast was like none I have ever had before. This will be my go-to recipe now when I serve roast! It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Making this today. Made it before and it was TO DIE FOR for sure. Today I'm using a better cut of beef as my hubby is asking for Traditional Roast Beef with Mashed Potatoes and Mushroom Gravy. "Boneless Bottom Round Beef Roast" is what I'm using. Steamed Broccoli with Cheese Sauce and Crescent Rolls. Now That is an Old Fashion Sunday Dinner which I haven't made in a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nailbiter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I really was not that impressed with this dish. My husband ended up finishing this. It's edible but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States