Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Wow! This was by far the easiest crock pot roast I've ever made! And so delicious! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
The sodium level is very high on this but the flavor is the best I've had for a roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this tonight. I've been making roasts in my crock pot or pressure cooker forever with the same old boring onion soup mix, so when I saw this recipe it got my attention as being "different". It went over so well, that I won't ever make it any other way. I was concerned about it being too salty so I used McCormick reduced sodium brown gravy mix and did not season the meat with salt. I would highly suggest this because it was plenty salty enough with this adjustment. I also wanted to make sure the gravy wasn't too thin so I coated the beef with flour, browned it and added an additional tablespoon of flour to the spice/water mixture. To my dismay, the "gravy" was like water when the roast was done. I removed the meat to a plate, covered with foil, and let it rest while I proceeded with making gravy out of the liquid. I cranked the crock pot up to high and did something I normally wouldn't have done, but I was way too lazy to make a gravy out of the normal flour roux. I mixed about 1 tablespoon of cornstarch with about 2-3 tablespoons water in a bowl until dissolved and smooth, whisked it into the liquid in crock pot, covered it and let it go for about 10 minutes. Worked famously. The kids and husband tore this up and when they were done, they were already talking about leftovers for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I've made this many times! With 7 people in the house I also add potatoes, onions, and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen of Zoom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I don't write reviews, nevertheless, the is the BEST pot roast my spouse & I have EVER had. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
The days that I'm off and my husband works I make a different recipe from this site. I never make the things he does because he's an excellent cook. I made this the other night, with very minor adjustments, I browned the beef after seasoning it with garlic, added onion & potatoes and used a beef boullion in the water, and he said it was the best thing I'd ever made!!! He wanted to know how I made it! It was awesome. Next time I'll add mushrooms too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Very good and easy. This is a simple reicpe to put together quickly and it turns out with a nice flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is one recipe that I will do be doing regularly since my 7 year will eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I MAKE THIS ALL THE TIME AND IT IS THE ABSOLUTE BEST POT ROAST RECIPE OUT THERE. I SEASON AND SEAR MY MEAT BEFORE PUTTING IT IN THE CROCK POT . I USE BEEF BROTH OR STOCK INSTEAD OF WATER. ADD CARROTS AND ONIONS IN THE CROCKPOT AS WELL. WHEN IT IS DONE I ADD A CORN STARCH SLURRY TO THE CROCKPOT AND SHRED THE ROAST BACK IN WITH THE GRAVY. DELISH !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN123102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Wow...I am not a cook by all means. I just decided to help out my wife and do something. I never cooked beef or used the slow cooker before. What a success the meal was. I actually made a full meal in the slow cooker. I put one half of onion and mushroom cut in big pieces on the bottom of the slow cooker. I then put a 2lb piece of roast over it. I then put 4 big potatoes cut in big pieces, then the other half of onion, mushrooms, and baby carrots. I then put the mixture over it and put on Low for 10 hours. For the mixture, I substituted water and brown mix for Beef broth. I did not salt anything, including meat. The mixture alone was enough and it came out to be perfect - not too salty and not blend. Will do it many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States