Three-Onion Pie with Feta or Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Quite bland other than the overwhelming taste of tarragon. Also made a very thin, flat dish. Probably wouldn't make this dish again but if I did I'd reduce the amount of tarragon, add 2 more eggs and a bit of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I thought there was a little too much in the recipe. I used 1/2 red onion and 1 white onion, parsley and a pinch of dill, a 9" deep dish pie crust, 3 eggs, and 6oz feta. I made it for the vegetarians, but had to make another one for the carnivores!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
A little too "herby" for me but I used dried thyme and I wonder if that had something to do with it I also omitted dill as it doesn't sound right for this dish. I added four egg whites and carmelized the onions which tasted really good. I didn't have leeks so I used green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Apart from omitting the tarragon - I can't stand it - I made this as written, and I can't say I was impressed. I've really only ever used dill with fish - mainly salmon - and I didn't think it complimented the feta cheese and leeks at all. I liked the idea of using a breadcrumb base instead of a pie crust, but I'll be sticking with my usual cheese and onion quiche filling in future. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Oh-so-yummy! Shared this recipe with my vegetarian friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Was not impressed. I agree with everyone else that this is a side dish not a main dish. We all agreed that the tomatoe was the only good part of the dish. The white wine adds nothing to this dish (execpt moisture) I followed this recipe exactly. It need to be kicked up with some hot sauce and maybe sprinkle some feat on top of the dish instead of the bread crumbs. Lots of chopping, lots of time for poor result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
My goodnes, this is delicious! I used a 9" whole wheat pie shell, and based on a previous review stating this was more a side dish beefed it up with 3 eggs and 8 oz. crumbled feta (1 cup). I used fresh parsley, dried tarragon, and omitted the dill. I did not add any salt because I thought the cheese would be enough, but I will probably add a dash next time. My husband can be quite picky when it comes to new foods, but he went back for seconds. I served with a greek side salad and grilled chicken apple sausage w/ grainy mustard. This is now one of my favorites for dinner or brunch. Thank YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
I made this recipe in a pre-made pie crust with goat cheese and it turned out great; it took just under 40 minutes to fully cook. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This pie is more like a side dish. I wouldn't recommend it as a main dish unless you are an onion freak. I probably won't make it again. The effort isn't worth the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2000
I made this as part of my daughter's birthday party dinner and again for a brunch... everyone loved it... including my year-old little girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States