Three Cheese Noodle Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
I found this recipe while looking for ways to use up cottage cheese and sour cream. It is very easy to make. The only change I made was to use elbow macaroni instead of noodles. My husband and I both liked it okay. Mine had a nice flavor and it seemed like a good recipe to make for a covered dish supper. It was dryer than I was expected. Husband didn't even notice the cottage cheese in it. Unfortunately it got a huge thumbs down from the younger members of the family although I admit they are picky about their mac & cheese. I think it might go over better with kids in general if there was a little velveeta cheese mixed in to give it a little moisture and a bit more creamy texture. I enjoyed trying it but I got too many complaints to make it again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Quite easy and cheesy dish. I thought it was great but my husband said it was too cheesy, first time I've ever heard that from him. It was slightly runny, but may have been due to using lowfat cheeses and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Yummy....I did use elbow noodles instead of the egg noodles. I didn't have sour cream so I substituted with a creamy ranch dip (premade), which has a sour cream base. Fast, easy to make and my 2 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This was very good. I didn't add the cottage cheese (can't stand the stuff!) and had the Worcestershire sauce out but forgot to add it! It all tasted fine without those things. We liked it very much and I will certainly make it again. My husband loves egg noodles and it was fun to use them in a cheesy way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamalovestocook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
This is pretty good.I have made it both with and without the cottage cheese and it is good both ways--I think the egg really makes the recipe.Good for a change from my regular "cheese-sauce" style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
I really like this recipe.Have made it both with and without the cottage cheese and it's great both ways.I also use baby shells or rotini. I figured out to cover the dish with a lid or tin foil when my 3 yr old would only eat the "soft parts"-top turned out a little chewy without it!! Super tasty recipe Kim-Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Very rich dish! I think I will try it with macaroni or shells next time; I prefer the flavor of egg noodles on their own or in soup. I tried using mustard instead of Worcestershire sauce, like Kim suggested - I used Luzianne's Creole Mustard, and it added a nice kick. One reviewer said that she left out the onions, but I didn't see them in the recipe ...? Also, I goofed up and added all of the shredded Cheddar cheese at once instead of reserving some for the topping, but it came out just fine. Very simple and tasty. Thanks, Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I love this recipe. I do modify it a bit, however. It is really good with small/medium shell noodles. I like to use a mixture of mild and sharp cheddar cheese. I also like to sprinkle the top with paprika and bake it a bit longer to get rid of the cottage cheese texture. In addition, i use no-fat cottage cheese and reduced fat sour cream. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Oh my god, this was delicious! I left out the Worcestershire sauce though, and added colby jack to the list of cheeses. :) I put one cup of colby jack and one cup of cheddar. I loved this so much I've eaten it all tonight and am going to make some more tommorow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This was fantastic! My kids (ages 3 & 1) cleaned their plates entirely! I added 1/4 inch slices of sausage for some meat and used lowfat sour cream and cottage cheese. I only had an 8 inch square dish, but cooking it 1 hour 10 minutes and letting it set for 5 minutes after worked like a charm! We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States