Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is my family's favorite scalloped potato recipe. However, as with other reviewers, the heat and/or timing is way off. Maybe I used too many potatoes and too many layers? I didn't like the two layer method so mine had 4 or 5 of very thinly sliced potatoes and added the Romano to the layers rather than on top. After three tries, I finally got it right with a temp of 375 covered for one hour, then uncovered for an additional 30-45 minutes. A little on the greasy side but that's ok with a nice beef dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Loved it!!! First time I make scallop potatoes. My husband couldn't get enough. Only changes: I added onions, and had to cook it for way longer, almost 2 hours. Totally worthy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
My husband loved this so much he asked me to marry him again! The kids and I thought the taste was perfect, but very heavy so next time I'll be using milk in place of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Awesome the first time around! It is really helpful when other people share their comments. If you have a food processor, it is so easy to slice the potatoes as they are consistent in size and it only took about 1 hour to cook. I used the light sour cream/1 cup of low fat milk and blended it together to make it creamy. I then used about 8 garlic cloves (for garlic lovers), chopped them up and spread them around. There is absolutely no need to use salt and as for the cheese topping, I only had jack cheese and it turned out awesome! So any cheese you like will do!!!! Outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious!! I gave it only 4 stars because it was super greasy. Maybe next time I'll omit the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I made this the other night for my family...all men. They couldn't get enough of It! I was wife mother and daughter supreme that night. I did exctly as the recipe called for but, added real bacon bits and topped with chives..My husband said they we're almost a meal alone. The butter was a little greasy but, I used a blended butter/ veg oil. Next time(tomorrow) going with real butter. Seriously try this one...so worth the time Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Yum! This was great and really easy. I would maybe even use a little more cheese next time... but I live life by the motto that there is never enough cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PlayterFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Made as recipe directs. Had to allow a longer cook time for the potatoes to be desired consistancy. Overall not bad will make next time with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe as is however I never have cream in the house and prefer skin milk, I make this recipe with skin milk as a sub for the cream and it still tastes fantastic I also cut back on the chedder for a lighter meal. Slice your potatos as thin as possible and it should help with cooking them through out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States