Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This recipe was disappointing. It took an extra long time to cook and I still didn't feel like the potatoes were cooked well. In addition, the cream and cheese stayed separate with a layer of grease floating through everything. The flavor would have been okay if only the consistency wasn't so gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING! I wouldn't change a thing. The first time I made this it turned out perfectly and my whole family loved it. It's become a holiday tradion to make these. The garlic and cream and cheeses blend perfectly and these are the best potates I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Very good. Heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjnj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Used half and half instead of the cream. I had to double the recipe, took much longer to cook and I par boiled the potatoes first. But very good. Reheated well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I'm just not sure what went wrong on this. I made the recipe according to instruction and rated it accordingly...without all the suggested modifications. The good news is that in the end, I wound up with an edible dish, but it was nothing more special than potatoes covered in melted cheese. Even when it's bad, that's bound to be good on some level? On the negative side, the potatoes were still too hard to eat at the end of the prescribed cook time. Also, I panicked toward the end because they were swimming in liquid. I must have poured 2 c. of butter/cream/cheese off of this dish. After sitting for quite a while, they did congeal enough to look okay on the Easter table. I really wanted to love this dish, but I will have to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARANICOLE154

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These scalloped potatoes are the tastiest I have ever eaten,even better then my late mothers which were great, I added two cups of diced ham,half a cup of diced sweet onions and 1 tbs of chives, 1 tsp garlic powder. best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
For a healthier version, I skipped the butter, and used half milk/half plain yogurt instead of the cream. Turned out great! Could have used more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made this for my fiance's family for Easter dinner. I didn't know this ahead of time, but apparently half the family loves scalloped potatoes. I'd never attempted making them before, so I was terrified! Long story short, they absolutely loved them and commented on them all night! I did substitute half fat free milk and half low fat sour cream instead of the heavy cream. It was still fantastic! Baked for 1 hour with foil on and 45 minutes with it off since I doubled the recipe. Yukon golds came out perfect: firm, but teeth sinkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Menne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Wowwa! These potatoes were AMAZING! I made them yesterday to have with our Easter Dinner. I did not have any heavy cream, so I used 2% milk and it still came out really good and creamy! The garlic really adds a lot of flavor and surprisingly is not overbearing. I am making a second batch tonight for dinner and adding chunks of our leftover Easter Ham. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Di

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made these for Easter and what a disappointment. I followed directions but used sour cream and 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the heavy cream. I used my mandolyn to assure thin slices. We tested them after an hour and the potatoes were still undercooked and hard. I ended up microwaving the dish and they still never cooked through. I have never had this happen. They were very watery and awful. It was a joke at the table after while just trying to get these to cook. Any thoughts on this disaster?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States