Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
We really liked this recipe. I made it for Easter this year and it was well received. I made this almost exactly as written except I left out the butter after reading reviews that suggested leaving it out because they said it was rather oily. I think that helped. It did take a long time to cook - about 2 hours. Maybe I'll par-cook the potatoes next time - I also forgot the parmesan cheese but it was still really good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Delicious! Each time my husband eats the leftovers he raves about them just like he was eating them for the first time. Guess these will have to be my go-to potato recipe. His son made them so it can't be that hard. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
SO GOOD!!! my changes are not majorly altering the recipe. I added SHARP cheddar instead and one medium sliced onion. Oh, and russet potatoes (I usually only buy these). I LOVE THIS RECIPE so good and fantastic leftovers (if you have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Thiswas awesome. Made for Easter dinner at in laws. I was nervous that the potatoes would not be done enough but they turned out great. I really think cooking in the stoneware helped because I had to take it out a lil early as to not be late. Stoneware takes a bit to cool so it cooked on the way over. I did add crumbled bacon and onions to the layers along with the garlic. There was barely any left and my family asked me to leave that for them to eat later. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Not for us. Too watery - drained at least a 1/2 cup liquid out and the texture was still awful. Will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I prefer to just use cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marnie Zorn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
It was ok....my mother enjoyed it but I found the cheese combo to be a little gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
The flavor was absolutely wonderful but I did have a couple issues. It was a bit greasy and too liquidy, I had to drain out some of the grease before serving. So next time I will probably not use butter, if I do I would use very little. I'll probably use half and half like some of the other reviews suggested and you must slice the potatoes REALLY REALLY thin. Mine were thin and it still took more like 1:15 to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I didn't think it had much flavor and was too heavy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I did this recipe EXACTLY as stated. Not only was the dish not done in 1 hour, but it was not done in 1.5 hours. It took 1-3/4 hours to cook the potatoes to al dente at 325 degrees. That said, OH MY GOD they are so luscious, deliciously decadant, and I could not stop eating them. Two comments on the cooking process - the provolone slices get totally brown, so I turned them back into the potatoes and let them "stew" in there under the cream. Otherwise they would have been black after 1-3/4 hours. When you add the parmesan at the end, we grated fresh and used 1/2 cup and ended up with a lovely, browned top and some chewy pieces of provolone in with the gooey potatoes. I would DEFINITELY make this again, but indeed allow the extra time. Stupendous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cerrito, California, USA
Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States