Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by dtherio
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this last night. I used a bit more potatoes and provolone cheese and added a bit of sliced onion and about 2 cups of cubed ham. When testing the "doneness" of the potatoes, I apparently didn't test in enough places. About 1/2 of the potatoes were cooked appropriately, the rest were a bit under-cooked. Total cooking time was 70 minutes. I was surprised at how much liquid there was especially considering that I used a fair amount of additional potatoes than what the recipe called for. In the future I would cut back on the cream to about 1/2 of what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and these potatoes came out soupy, greasy and the sauce looked 'curdled'. The flavor and smell was great, but the appearance and presentation was disappointing. Not sure where this went wrong, because I was really excited about this recipe and the wonderful reviews it received previously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this today for Easter Brunch. I did make these changes to minimize the fat content. Doubling the recipe, I used about 10 potatoes, 4 cloves of garlic, used 3 cups of 2% milk instead of the heavy cream, used half the amount of each of the three cheeses called for (cheddar, provolone, and parmesan) and no butter. They turned out great! (And will be replacing the old traditional recipe I've been using for ages!!) (5 stars from me, with these changes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Just made this recipe for Easter Dinner. The potatoes were undercooked and there was too much liquid! I put them back in the oven for an additional 30 mins and they turned out great! My family liked then so much, they ate what they took the first time around and waited for the potatoes to finish to get seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was great! My family loved it. I doubled the recipe nd it took closer to 1 1/2 hours for the potatoes to be really tender. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Walsh Arpin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I really enjoyed this version of scalloped potatoes! I will make them again! I topped mine up with bread crumbs and melted butter, made it nice & crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Maltais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The flavour is really good, however, the cheese texture turned out lumpy and the potatoes were not done and sitting in a lot of liquid. I made them again but had to add a flour slurry to thicken it up. The cheese was still separated and the potatoes although sliced thin did the not cook. Wouldn't serve this for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
These were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made these potatoes last night with baked fish. It came out very good, only because I read quite a few of the reviews and made the adjustments . I baked the whole thing at at 400 degrees, for 1 hour total. The first 1/2 hour was covered with sprayed foil (underside only), the foil removed for the last 1/2 hour, and let to bake till crust formed on top. I didn't use cream, but I used a reduced amount (1/1/2 cups) of Kefir, which is like a liquid yoghurt, also I used 4 cloves of garlic. All in all the dish came out very good, cheesy, with a bit of tang, and brilliant crusty topping. Next time I will add onion and a bit of cayenne to perk it up a little. Relatively easy to put together, worth a try. A menu suggestion would be to make this with something that doesn't compete with the richness of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I made it as the recipe said, it took 2 hours and very greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States