Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent recipe! My PROBLEM is the name. For those that don't know, ANY time cheese is used it is a GRATIN. It is only Scalloped when there is no cheese. I see this all the time and for some reason it simply grates on my nerves. Now to the recipe. Make sure your potatoes are sliced thin and season each layer as you go. This way there is no blandness under all the wonderful cheese topping. Other than the name I had no problem at all with this recipe. To answer one question asked this can be made to the point of baking and held up to 24 hours in the fridge just make sure that none of the potatoes are exposed (they turn black when exposed to air) and the dish is well covered. Make and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Made the first time as recipe is written. It was great but on the "rich" side. Second time, I went to make the recipe & discovered I didn't have enough potatoes. So, Plan B: used 1 1/2 lbs frozen southern style hashbrowns. I defrosted in the microwave so I could assemble the recipe. Ended up folding in some onion, garlic, dried chives, 1 cup fat free 1/2 & 1/2, 1 cup low fat sour cream and the 2 cups shredded cheese. Combined & poured into greased casserole. Covered with foil, baked 1/2 hour, removed foil and added the provolone & parmesan on the top. Finished baking. Very creamy even though I didn't add butter. Served with baked lemon pepper fish fillets and coleslaw. Will make this again with our "fish meals".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I have made these several times, did not change a thing. Everyone in my family loves them! the bake time is kind of off though, mine always take longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
So good. After read some of the other comments I to did some changes. My pickey eater said he only likes mommies potatoes. We make again and again. Oh yeah it help that I sprankled bacon on the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shavettvon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I sliced the potatoes on a mandoline, used half and half cream, and didn't have provolone so I left it out but added extra cheddar. I had some leftover cheese sauce from a mac and cheese dish I had prepared earlier so I added it as well. It was baked in a 9x9 pyrex dish. As written the heat and timing is off, the potatoes were still al dente after an hour and a half. The completed dish was swimming in water/separated milk fat, even with the addition of my leftover mornay. The flavour was good, the potatoes were a messy, liquidy glopfest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I am giving this a 2 star rating because it didn't work out, but the flavor wasn't bad. I sliced the potatoes paper thing with a mandolin, and they were still not cooked after the hour of cooking. I increased the heat to 400 and baked for an extra half hour & they came out soft, yet al dente. My rooommate makes scalloped potatoes and it said to cook at 400 for 1 1/2 hours. That is a big difference from what the instructions say here! The heavy cream was waaaaaay too much! It made a layer on top of cream and oil from the cheese & butter. The whole dish was swimming in liquid. After I placed the leftovers in the fridge, I scraped off the 1/2 inch layer of hardened cream on top! The flavors are not bad. I sliced the garlic thin, and I added thin slices of white onion. I even added more cheese than called for & it was just an average amount of cheese. I might try making this again with 1/2 the amount of cream, more cheese, and higher/longer cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by urdonesrh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Cook time is way off on these. I cut the recipe in half and used my food processor to slice the potatoes very thin and after 1 hour they were still very hard. Cooked additional 1/2 hour and increased the temperature to 400 and they still were too firm in spots. Definitely blanch first if you are making this! I also found the garlic a little strong but I swapped the parmesan with asiago that I had on hand so maybe the combination of the two was a little overwhelming. I feel the butter isn't necessary in this recipe either, there is plenty of fat from the cheese and cream, the butter just leaves greasy spots in the dish where the oil rises to the top. Not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great recipe! Just make sure the potatoes are very thin and I added a little more cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Received fantastic reviews from my family and requests to make it again. I did add sliced onions to my layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very good scalloped potato recipe. I made as written but will eliminate the butter the next time as it rose to the top and looked greasy and I will salt & pepper the potatoes instead of on top of the cheese. I also used scissor cut garlic chives to sprinkle over the top. Excellent garlic taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States