Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I'm also not sure what the other people were eating. They sure didn't make the recipe as posted, because it's far from a 5 as-is. Agree with the comments on the greasy, curdled mess that many other reviewers ended up with. I even omitted the butter entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
OMG BOMB-DIGGITY! My husband said it's the best potato dish he has EVER had. He said it's better than any restaurant, I have to agree! I substituted half pint milk with half pint cream, I also substituted 2 teaspoons minced garlic from a jar instead of fresh garlic, I also substituted peeled red potatoes instead of Yukon Gold, the recipe still tasted AMAZING! If I could give 10 stars I would! This recipe is definitely a keeper, I'll probably laminate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gay Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Yeah, I am confused about all the rave reviews. I followed the recipe and ended up with a curdled mess. The taste was awesome though, so too bad it turned out the way it did. To anyone who decides to try it, omit the butter. With all that cheese you really don't need it and the cheese + butter creates a lot of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERDISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was great. Used half and half instead of cream per other's reviews and the advice of my mom. :) The provolone and garlic are definetly the keys. Next time I would add a little more cheddar, and my housemate said we should try it with green onions next time. I think both could make it taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
A wise sister once told me that whenever you cook a recipe for the first time, follow it exactly. That way you know who screwed up if it wasn't to your liking. After that do all the tweaking you like to your personal taste. Well, after making this recipe as is, we thought it was divine. Next time I will try to tweak it to make it less caloric! I'll sprinkle a Tblsp of flour over potatoes with regular milk, less butter and cheese, maybe green onions. As is, it is excellent but not to be eaten too often if health is a concern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ealanna
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I had the same experience with having a lot of oil floating around the dish. I tipped the casserole dish to the side in my sink and let most of the oil drain out. It was very tasty- but I think I am going to look for an alternative to the cheddar cheese- maybe Kraft American cheese? Something that melts smoothly without producing all the oil. I also substituted minced garlic for fresh garlic - just based on what was available in my pantry. Overall it was very filling and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent recipe! My PROBLEM is the name. For those that don't know, ANY time cheese is used it is a GRATIN. It is only Scalloped when there is no cheese. I see this all the time and for some reason it simply grates on my nerves. Now to the recipe. Make sure your potatoes are sliced thin and season each layer as you go. This way there is no blandness under all the wonderful cheese topping. Other than the name I had no problem at all with this recipe. To answer one question asked this can be made to the point of baking and held up to 24 hours in the fridge just make sure that none of the potatoes are exposed (they turn black when exposed to air) and the dish is well covered. Make and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Made the first time as recipe is written. It was great but on the "rich" side. Second time, I went to make the recipe & discovered I didn't have enough potatoes. So, Plan B: used 1 1/2 lbs frozen southern style hashbrowns. I defrosted in the microwave so I could assemble the recipe. Ended up folding in some onion, garlic, dried chives, 1 cup fat free 1/2 & 1/2, 1 cup low fat sour cream and the 2 cups shredded cheese. Combined & poured into greased casserole. Covered with foil, baked 1/2 hour, removed foil and added the provolone & parmesan on the top. Finished baking. Very creamy even though I didn't add butter. Served with baked lemon pepper fish fillets and coleslaw. Will make this again with our "fish meals".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I have made these several times, did not change a thing. Everyone in my family loves them! the bake time is kind of off though, mine always take longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
So good. After read some of the other comments I to did some changes. My pickey eater said he only likes mommies potatoes. We make again and again. Oh yeah it help that I sprankled bacon on the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shavettvon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States