Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made this to go with our Easter dinner. Rave reviews. I decided to blanch the potatoes first and was SO glad I did. Potatoes came out perfectly soft, but not mushy. Took the advice of some others and substituted 1 cup of sour cream and 1 cup of skim milk for the heavy cream. The sour cream gave it just the right amount of zip. Used sharp cheddar, too. I've never found a scalloped potato recipe that we liked - until now. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
My family lovedddd this recipe!!! Now I make it for every family dinner! A mandalin comes in handy for the potatoes. And I have had a great experience with cooking it the night before and heating/serving the next day. My grandma said she would choose to eat this over desserts, if that gives you any idea :) I made the recipe exactly as it is and it turns out perfect every time. ALSO, I use the jar of already chopped garlic and use a spoon to spread over the potatoes. Little things like that make it much easier to prepare this while you are cooking ham/turkey and other sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Barrows

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I LOVE this recipe. I have made it multiple times over the years. The only difference is that I don't like food too garlicky so I just sprinkle a little garlic powder in place of the garlic slices. I have always found that the cooking temp and time do not jive however. To be done in an hour, I've always had to bake it at 400/425.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Super Duper Good! I love scalloped potatoes and this recipe makes it easy and good! Will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This really was VERY tasty for how simple it was! I froze it after preparing it in anticipation for Christmas Dinner. Turned out delicious! One of the best dishes on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Bonnie Ezell
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I have tried this recipe and it's true if you love cheese. You will love this !!! I didn't have all the cheeses but I improvise on a couple items: I use sour cream , onions, sharp cheese , pepper, and garlic powder. All in all it all gone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Ezell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Made this dish today as a side dish for my husband's take to work dinner. Followed the directions exactly, which I feel as many others-that's how a published recipe should be rated - no changes. All we can say is WOW!!! It does have high caloric, fat & cholesterol content & the potatoes were a little al dente as per the cooking time directions. Potatoes were sliced 1/16" thick & layered in a 9"x13" casserole dish. I cooked it at 325 in a convection oven for the 30+30 minutes. I look forward to trying the suggestions from other reviewers to lighten this dish. But it was excellent & easy without all the extra steps suggested(which = extra labor, time & cleanup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorimccar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I carmelized the onions first and loved this-- Only change I would make is to boil the potatoes a bit first next time to help with cooking time and final texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Great recipe! Everyone loved it! Garlic needs to be finely chopped. I used no salt garlic powder with parsley also.I substituted a bag of 6 cheese Italian for the parmesan & provolone. This saved some $ and it tasted great! Sprinkled the last layer with parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This recipe requires at least an extra 30 minutes to bake. I set it at 350 throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Bartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States