Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I really enjoyed this version of scalloped potatoes! I will make them again! I topped mine up with bread crumbs and melted butter, made it nice & crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbiemaltais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The flavour is really good, however, the cheese texture turned out lumpy and the potatoes were not done and sitting in a lot of liquid. I made them again but had to add a flour slurry to thicken it up. The cheese was still separated and the potatoes although sliced thin did the not cook. Wouldn't serve this for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
These were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made these potatoes last night with baked fish. It came out very good, only because I read quite a few of the reviews and made the adjustments . I baked the whole thing at at 400 degrees, for 1 hour total. The first 1/2 hour was covered with sprayed foil (underside only), the foil removed for the last 1/2 hour, and let to bake till crust formed on top. I didn't use cream, but I used a reduced amount (1/1/2 cups) of Kefir, which is like a liquid yoghurt, also I used 4 cloves of garlic. All in all the dish came out very good, cheesy, with a bit of tang, and brilliant crusty topping. Next time I will add onion and a bit of cayenne to perk it up a little. Relatively easy to put together, worth a try. A menu suggestion would be to make this with something that doesn't compete with the richness of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I made it as the recipe said, it took 2 hours and very greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Family favorite but I made a few changes. Used 2.5 lbs of potatoes (approx. 5 large), substitute heavy cream with 1 c. sour cream mixed with 1 c. milk, I think this makes it less greasy. I also pre-cook the potatoes in the microwave. Cook with a small amount of water on high for 6 min at a time testing for tenderness, may need a total of 18 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Hours in the oven and these never got done - and I followed the recipe exactly. Flavor was AWESOME, but cruncy potatoes just don't work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassel, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was a hit at Christmas brunch. Followed recipe exactly. Very rich.. Definitely a treat and not your everyday potato dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were pretty tasty, and much easier than my mom's way of making scalloped potatoes, but not quite as satisfying as hers. I'll probably stick with the family recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe was easy and fantastic! I used the comments to make some changes, and I think they were the right ones! 1 cup sour cream and 1 cup milk instead of the heavy cream - also I didn't have any provolone so I just left it out and it was still plenty cheezy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States