Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Oh my! These were heavenly! I didn't change a thing with the recipe and they came out perfect! Couldn't have been any better! I plan on making these again and again! Thanks, Karla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
My sister made these for easter and they were delicious! I will definately be making these for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Excellent! I added a layer of thinly sliced onions in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
These are so sinfully good, I felt guilty eating them. I question if the person who wrote this recipe really means a "pint" of heavy cream. That's 2 cartons since they are half pint, but anyway I used 2. I think half and half would work just as well in this. Changes I made were: I used red potatoes since that's what I had on hand. I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic, which worked well. Next time, I will used something other than provolone for the 3rd cheese, it was stringy like pizza cheese and I prefer a cheese that melts down more. Also, I boiled my potatoes the day before, I think the water in raw potatoes changes the flavor and consistency of a recipe. This is wonderful with ham and I highly recommend it. I know I will make it many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
I made these a couple of weeks ago. Very good I only changed this a little I crushed the garlic and added it to the cream (I tripled the recipe and wanted the garlic to be even through the potatoes) I also added finely chopped onion like another reviewer. Go easy with the salt with all this cheese especially with the parmesan. I will be making this for Easter dinner this Sunday to go with the ham. I find that if I par boil the potatoes (cover potatoes with water and bring to a boil for a couple of minutes) then slice they cook faster and the sauce is creamier I think because the potatoes don't absorb to much of the moisture, maybe that just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I made this recipe between the holidays. After dinner my wife said "POTATOES TO DIE FOR! A 10+". What more needs to be said. Good job KarlaLV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
I substituted colby and monterey jack for the provolone and parmesan. Leftovers are a little unappetizing to look at since the oils separate but equally as rich and creamy. Simple to make. A real comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
These were great-they take a little longer in the oven, so I would suggest making these on a day when you have extra time, but they are well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Has anyone tried making these the day before? I love recipes I don't need to make the day of the dinner party. Please answer soon as I need to make them for Easter Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
My family just loved this recipe. I got a wow this is really good from my kids and hubby. The only thing I changed was I didn't have yukon potatoes so I used regular and I added more garlic just our preferance. This will be the only scalloped potatoes we will have from now on Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States