Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This is a delicious recipe. After reading other reviews I decided against using heavy cream. Instead, I wisked together one cup of fat free sour cream and 1 cup of skim milk. It made it very creamy, without the heaviness of the cream. Plus, the sour cream gave it a really nice flavor. I also used minced garlic instead of sliced garlice. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
629 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
An amazing recipe. Have made several times, each with different cheese combos. You have to use the fresh grated Parmesan on top for the crispy topping effect. I used my mandolin to slice the potatoes very thin, so the cooking time was precise. What a wonderful recipe! *Update*: I've found that if you cover with foil for the first half hour (spray the underside of the foil with cooking spray and it won't stick to the cheese) the potatoes cook more thoroughly. Just a little tip. Still making this awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
438 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
I made these a couple of weeks ago. Very good I only changed this a little I crushed the garlic and added it to the cream (I tripled the recipe and wanted the garlic to be even through the potatoes) I also added finely chopped onion like another reviewer. Go easy with the salt with all this cheese especially with the parmesan. I will be making this for Easter dinner this Sunday to go with the ham. I find that if I par boil the potatoes (cover potatoes with water and bring to a boil for a couple of minutes) then slice they cook faster and the sauce is creamier I think because the potatoes don't absorb to much of the moisture, maybe that just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Once again, so many people changing the original recipe then rating the original! I made this EXACTLY AS IS....what a YUMMY and EXCELLENT DISH!! The second time I made it I did add extra garlic only because I love "extra garlic", it was STILL GREAT! Timing was perfect! It was one of the TASTIEST potato dishes we EVER TASTED. The teenagers loved it too. The first time I made it, I kept having to look at the recipe, but now it's EASY TO MAKE. IF you have left-overs, they are JUST AS YUMMY! Thanks for the FLAVORFUL "AS IS" RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everLuuvd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Does anyone know if this recipe can be made beforehand and then cooked the day of? I want to use it for Easter Dinner but would like to be well prepared so I can enjoy myself instead of running around like a mad woman....Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
The first time I made these potatoes, the texture was disgusting. The potatoes were underdone and sitting in water. However, the flavor was so darned good that I thought it worth another try! Based on the recommendations of other reviewers, I sliced the potatoes thinly using my Kitchen Aid slicer, I used a mixture of 1 c. fat free sour cream and 1 c. skim milk instead of heavy cream, I used pre-minced garlic from a jar to taste, I ommitted the butter, went light on salt, and cooked for over 1 1/2 hours at 325. They were perfection! This recipe is especially good for those who loved crusty, baked cheese. However, lovers of ooey gooey cheese won't be disappointed with what lies underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
WoW, I loved these potatoes, they were delicious. I followed the recipe with respect to the cheeses, using sharp cheddar, parmesan, and provolone, and these were great. I used Half-and-half instead of cream, as was suggested, so I would recommend this to others. Also, as others have said the butter could be reduced, mine WOULD have been rather greasy except that in the last half hour (when I removed it from the oven to add Parmesan on top) I drained the excess butter from the pan, because it was looking too greasy. I will definitely make this again, but probably with only a little bit of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This was "good" but I've had better scalloped potatoes. I added more salt and garlic than the recipe called for, but there still seemed to be a dearth of flavor, probably because there was too much cream in the recipe. The cheese layers definitely saved the dish. Next time I will cut back on the cream by at least half and replace with garlic-infused milk. Tips: -I increased cooking temp to 400F--but you might want to cover lightly with a piece of aluminum foil so the cheddar doesn't brown too fast. -I used a mandolin to cut potatoes very thinly (a food processor would work too) and then I blanched the slices in a pot of boiling water for about 10 mins--don't let them get soft! I patted them dry, then layered them and had NO problems with cooking time. So, all in all: more salt/garlic, less cream, increase oven temp, slice potatoes thinly and blanch before layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I spread the potatoes in a thin layer so they'll cook faster and i made sure they were sliced very thin. The cheeses on top got kind of crispy and that gave it a nice touch. I also covered the pan with foil for the first 30 minutes. Excellent! Update: Made these in cute individual ramekins, layered as described and they look amazing!!Used half and half instead of heavy cream. Great presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Yum, Yum, Yum! Delicious homemade scalloped potatoes. I highly recommend this recipe. I added 2 extra garlic cloves and immediately before serving I added some shredded parmesan. These weren't that great for leftovers so prepare it for a meal where it will all get eaten fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States