Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I sliced the potatoes on a mandoline, used half and half cream, and didn't have provolone so I left it out but added extra cheddar. I had some leftover cheese sauce from a mac and cheese dish I had prepared earlier so I added it as well. It was baked in a 9x9 pyrex dish. As written the heat and timing is off, the potatoes were still al dente after an hour and a half. The completed dish was swimming in water/separated milk fat, even with the addition of my leftover mornay. The flavour was good, the potatoes were a messy, liquidy glopfest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I am giving this a 2 star rating because it didn't work out, but the flavor wasn't bad. I sliced the potatoes paper thing with a mandolin, and they were still not cooked after the hour of cooking. I increased the heat to 400 and baked for an extra half hour & they came out soft, yet al dente. My rooommate makes scalloped potatoes and it said to cook at 400 for 1 1/2 hours. That is a big difference from what the instructions say here! The heavy cream was waaaaaay too much! It made a layer on top of cream and oil from the cheese & butter. The whole dish was swimming in liquid. After I placed the leftovers in the fridge, I scraped off the 1/2 inch layer of hardened cream on top! The flavors are not bad. I sliced the garlic thin, and I added thin slices of white onion. I even added more cheese than called for & it was just an average amount of cheese. I might try making this again with 1/2 the amount of cream, more cheese, and higher/longer cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by urdonesrh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Cook time is way off on these. I cut the recipe in half and used my food processor to slice the potatoes very thin and after 1 hour they were still very hard. Cooked additional 1/2 hour and increased the temperature to 400 and they still were too firm in spots. Definitely blanch first if you are making this! I also found the garlic a little strong but I swapped the parmesan with asiago that I had on hand so maybe the combination of the two was a little overwhelming. I feel the butter isn't necessary in this recipe either, there is plenty of fat from the cheese and cream, the butter just leaves greasy spots in the dish where the oil rises to the top. Not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great recipe! Just make sure the potatoes are very thin and I added a little more cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Received fantastic reviews from my family and requests to make it again. I did add sliced onions to my layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very good scalloped potato recipe. I made as written but will eliminate the butter the next time as it rose to the top and looked greasy and I will salt & pepper the potatoes instead of on top of the cheese. I also used scissor cut garlic chives to sprinkle over the top. Excellent garlic taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is just not a good recipe. The taste is terrific, but there is too much cream and nothing to bind it, so the butter and all the grease that melts out of the cheese rise to the top and just sit there in a pool when you serve it and break through the Parmesan crust. You can't even tell anything is wrong til you try and serve it. I was very sad at the amount of grease and fairly bland cream (that much cream needs quite a bit more seasoning, but IMO it's just plain too much cream period). Also, the cook time is off even for Yukons - 1 hour 15 minutes and my potatoes were still crunchy all except the top layer which was closest to the broiler (I browned the cheese under the broiler). After re-cooking the flavor was nice, but the plating still wasn't pretty -- reinforcing for me that I always prefer when au gratin potatoes or macaroni start with a bechamel. Still, thanks for the recipe, because in the end the flavor was nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
very greasy.... all of my guests loved it but I felt it was too rich. Next time I will cut the cheese in half and use milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielly411

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
THIS IS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!! I USED A LITTLE OVER 2# OF POTATOES AND LAYERED THEM IN A 9X13 DISH. EVERYONE LOVED THEM AND ASKED FOR THE RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, this turned out rather greasy and the texture was unappetizing. I think this recipe goes overboard with the cheese. I wouldn't recommend it and wouldn't make it again (at least not with the suggested combination of cheeses), and this is coming from people who are huge cheese lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States