Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I made this the other night for my family...all men. They couldn't get enough of It! I was wife mother and daughter supreme that night. I did exctly as the recipe called for but, added real bacon bits and topped with chives..My husband said they we're almost a meal alone. The butter was a little greasy but, I used a blended butter/ veg oil. Next time(tomorrow) going with real butter. Seriously try this one...so worth the time Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Yum! This was great and really easy. I would maybe even use a little more cheese next time... but I live life by the motto that there is never enough cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PlayterFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Made as recipe directs. Had to allow a longer cook time for the potatoes to be desired consistancy. Overall not bad will make next time with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe as is however I never have cream in the house and prefer skin milk, I make this recipe with skin milk as a sub for the cream and it still tastes fantastic I also cut back on the chedder for a lighter meal. Slice your potatos as thin as possible and it should help with cooking them through out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I've made these a few times exactly as the recipe states and they are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Jo Hurley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Wonderful flavor, especially with the smoked cheese blend I put on top. I am only giving four stars because I cooked over double the time to achieve tender potatoes. The recipe should say to slice VERY thinly, and I think 3 or four layers were preferable to the two layers as written. Great taste though, it just needs tweaking for the procedure. ~~~NOTE: I raised the heat, varying from 350-425 (depending on what else was cooking in the oven), and I covered the pan, and the cream boiled and clumped. This must explain why the recipe calls for low 325, to avoid cream separation. Heavy cream is finicky :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Cooking time too short as posted and/or temp not high enough. Next time I will increase oven temp to 375 and also try convection setting. I should probably have had the liquid at room temp when I started; maybe that would have helped them cook faster. Lots of grease even though I used half 'n half not heavy cream. Don't need the butter on each layer. Did sprinkle both layers with a TBSP of flour. Not sure if it helped or not. Next time I will make more, thinner layers and will saute lots of onion and add to the layers. Garlic was a big positive - I added extra. I used cheddar for the layers, asiago on top, and the person who said putting parmesan on top would brown and crisp top was correct. Not a difficult recipe and end result tasted really good, just needed to tweak the temp, time and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I made this last night when my husband invited some coworkers for dinner. I was hesitant about trying out a new recipe on company, but it sounded sooo good. I made it just as written, but I had to bake it about 20-30 minutes longer than directed. It turned out great! Everybody raved over it, and the dish was almost empty! I was worried about it being too rich because you could see little greasy pools at the top, but nobody seemed to mind. Next time I think I'll leave the butter out to see what happens. Overall...YUMMY!!! Wish I had more leftovers to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I think it was to heavy for me to grease but, it was good after food cool down little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gbv239

Displaying results 71-80 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States