Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These are fantastic. These will become part of my hoilday meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Loved the provolone topping. The potatoes were uncooked though, so will take another reviewers suggestion of boiling the sliced potatoes briefly first. Very high fat meal, will lower the butter content next time too. Won't make often just because of the calories/fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The taste is great, but this is the 2nd attempt I've made with this recipe - both times the consistency was very watery. I give up on this one. I'll be looking for a new scalloped potatoes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I have made homemade cheesy scalloped potatoes so many times over the years but was really excited when I found this recipe! When I make scalloped potatoes, I make a homemade cheese sauce (butter, flour, milk, cheese). I thought this recipe would cut out that entire process and make for quicker prep time. I just took my potatoes out of the oven (they have been in there for 2 hours) and I'm disappointed in how clumpy the sauce is. I am letting it cool but I don't think that will make it much better. There is no what scalloped potaoes will cook in an hour. I knew that going into this recipe. I use a mandoline to slice my potatoes thin, but it still takes a long time to bake. The next time I make scalloped potatoes, I will go back to making with with my cheese sauce and layering the dish - potatoes, sauce, potatoes, sauce, etc. It's much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Three words: Nom nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This recipe was disappointing. It took an extra long time to cook and I still didn't feel like the potatoes were cooked well. In addition, the cream and cheese stayed separate with a layer of grease floating through everything. The flavor would have been okay if only the consistency wasn't so gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING! I wouldn't change a thing. The first time I made this it turned out perfectly and my whole family loved it. It's become a holiday tradion to make these. The garlic and cream and cheeses blend perfectly and these are the best potates I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Very good. Heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjnj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Used half and half instead of the cream. I had to double the recipe, took much longer to cook and I par boiled the potatoes first. But very good. Reheated well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I'm just not sure what went wrong on this. I made the recipe according to instruction and rated it accordingly...without all the suggested modifications. The good news is that in the end, I wound up with an edible dish, but it was nothing more special than potatoes covered in melted cheese. Even when it's bad, that's bound to be good on some level? On the negative side, the potatoes were still too hard to eat at the end of the prescribed cook time. Also, I panicked toward the end because they were swimming in liquid. I must have poured 2 c. of butter/cream/cheese off of this dish. After sitting for quite a while, they did congeal enough to look okay on the Easter table. I really wanted to love this dish, but I will have to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARANICOLE154

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States