Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very disappointing. The potatoes were not cooked through, even at 350 for one and one half hours. I covered the dish with foil for the first 30 minutes and even that didn't help. I used half and half and it curdled. Maybe boiling potatoes first would help, but I think there are better recipes out there. Won't be making again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I used aged white cheddar and sliced smoked provolone. I also added a bit of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Absolutely Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla
Living In: Colville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Very tasty, but my very thinly sliced potatoes took almost two hours to be cooked fully (at 350). Also, the sauce was quite greasy. Everyone loved the flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These are fantastic. These will become part of my hoilday meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Loved the provolone topping. The potatoes were uncooked though, so will take another reviewers suggestion of boiling the sliced potatoes briefly first. Very high fat meal, will lower the butter content next time too. Won't make often just because of the calories/fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The taste is great, but this is the 2nd attempt I've made with this recipe - both times the consistency was very watery. I give up on this one. I'll be looking for a new scalloped potatoes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I have made homemade cheesy scalloped potatoes so many times over the years but was really excited when I found this recipe! When I make scalloped potatoes, I make a homemade cheese sauce (butter, flour, milk, cheese). I thought this recipe would cut out that entire process and make for quicker prep time. I just took my potatoes out of the oven (they have been in there for 2 hours) and I'm disappointed in how clumpy the sauce is. I am letting it cool but I don't think that will make it much better. There is no what scalloped potaoes will cook in an hour. I knew that going into this recipe. I use a mandoline to slice my potatoes thin, but it still takes a long time to bake. The next time I make scalloped potatoes, I will go back to making with with my cheese sauce and layering the dish - potatoes, sauce, potatoes, sauce, etc. It's much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Three words: Nom nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This recipe was disappointing. It took an extra long time to cook and I still didn't feel like the potatoes were cooked well. In addition, the cream and cheese stayed separate with a layer of grease floating through everything. The flavor would have been okay if only the consistency wasn't so gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States