Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
So...This is great. I love cheese. I love potatoes. I love garlic. I omitted the provolone because i didnt have it. I used chopped garlic from the store. I melted the butter just because i didnt want to get my fingers greasy. A mandolin slicer is necessary! i almost dropped the whole thing in the floor trying to sneak a bite before I got caught. The dog is enjoying what did drip out of the casserole dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is really a 5 star after making modifications. But I wanted to rate the recipe base as a 4. We loved this. I used suggestions of others and did 1 c. skim and 1c sour cream (I did not use fat free). I also used minced garlic and i mixed it in with the milk/sour cream mixture, along with salt and pepper. The only thing I only cooked it for 1 hr 15 min. Next time we'll do a full hour and a half. We are eating the leftovers tonight with meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
We really liked this recipe. I made it for Easter this year and it was well received. I made this almost exactly as written except I left out the butter after reading reviews that suggested leaving it out because they said it was rather oily. I think that helped. It did take a long time to cook - about 2 hours. Maybe I'll par-cook the potatoes next time - I also forgot the parmesan cheese but it was still really good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Delicious! Each time my husband eats the leftovers he raves about them just like he was eating them for the first time. Guess these will have to be my go-to potato recipe. His son made them so it can't be that hard. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
SO GOOD!!! my changes are not majorly altering the recipe. I added SHARP cheddar instead and one medium sliced onion. Oh, and russet potatoes (I usually only buy these). I LOVE THIS RECIPE so good and fantastic leftovers (if you have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Thiswas awesome. Made for Easter dinner at in laws. I was nervous that the potatoes would not be done enough but they turned out great. I really think cooking in the stoneware helped because I had to take it out a lil early as to not be late. Stoneware takes a bit to cool so it cooked on the way over. I did add crumbled bacon and onions to the layers along with the garlic. There was barely any left and my family asked me to leave that for them to eat later. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Not for us. Too watery - drained at least a 1/2 cup liquid out and the texture was still awful. Will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I prefer to just use cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marnie Zorn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
It was ok....my mother enjoyed it but I found the cheese combo to be a little gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
The flavor was absolutely wonderful but I did have a couple issues. It was a bit greasy and too liquidy, I had to drain out some of the grease before serving. So next time I will probably not use butter, if I do I would use very little. I'll probably use half and half like some of the other reviews suggested and you must slice the potatoes REALLY REALLY thin. Mine were thin and it still took more like 1:15 to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States