Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe was easy and fantastic! I used the comments to make some changes, and I think they were the right ones! 1 cup sour cream and 1 cup milk instead of the heavy cream - also I didn't have any provolone so I just left it out and it was still plenty cheezy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Too cheesy and Greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Ok, just put it in the oven, update to come! So far, will need double the cheese & garlic. Used a 9x13 dish, and 6 slices of provolone (not 4). Milk seemed fine, covered as well with foil. Update once done! Ok, after 30 minutes, potatoes are hard; cut them on a mandolin-type thingy; are they not thin enough? Going another 20 minutes, but seems soupy....update to come! I got impatient after 17 minutes; potatoes more done, but still need more. Nice browning cheese on top! Seems greasy though....concerned about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
BAD!!! Followed recipe exactly. Cooked it twice as long as recipe says, potatoes were still raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I used one cup of half and half instead of heavy cream- sprinkled parmesan on each layer to thicken the sauce because I was afraid the dish would be watery- also substituted garlic powder for the cloves -don't really think the butter is necessary- took way too long to cook at 325 so bumped temp up to 375 and covered with foil- even my husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I doubled the recipe and added cooked ham chunks to it and it was wonderful. Very creamy and cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I've made this recipe many times. Always a hit. I've used half and half instead of heavy cream many times and it still comes out great. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
So...This is great. I love cheese. I love potatoes. I love garlic. I omitted the provolone because i didnt have it. I used chopped garlic from the store. I melted the butter just because i didnt want to get my fingers greasy. A mandolin slicer is necessary! i almost dropped the whole thing in the floor trying to sneak a bite before I got caught. The dog is enjoying what did drip out of the casserole dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is really a 5 star after making modifications. But I wanted to rate the recipe base as a 4. We loved this. I used suggestions of others and did 1 c. skim and 1c sour cream (I did not use fat free). I also used minced garlic and i mixed it in with the milk/sour cream mixture, along with salt and pepper. The only thing I only cooked it for 1 hr 15 min. Next time we'll do a full hour and a half. We are eating the leftovers tonight with meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
We really liked this recipe. I made it for Easter this year and it was well received. I made this almost exactly as written except I left out the butter after reading reviews that suggested leaving it out because they said it was rather oily. I think that helped. It did take a long time to cook - about 2 hours. Maybe I'll par-cook the potatoes next time - I also forgot the parmesan cheese but it was still really good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States