Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
JUST DELICIOUS. THANKS FOR A GREAT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I am only giving this recipe a 2 because the flavor was great...if it wasn't for that it would be a 1 star. The time and heat is WAY off. Most scalloped potato recipes have the temp at 400 or 425 so I should have known that something wasn't right with a temp of 325. After almost 2 hours they were STILL not cooked all the way through and I followed this recipe to the letter. The only thing I can think of is that maybe it would cook all the way through at that temp in a convection oven?? I don't know. I will definitely have to adjust the temp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I have made these several time and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I really didn't think this recipe was going turn out but they were wonderful. I made them for friends and the OMG's kept coming about how good they were
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I'm also not sure what the other people were eating. They sure didn't make the recipe as posted, because it's far from a 5 as-is. Agree with the comments on the greasy, curdled mess that many other reviewers ended up with. I even omitted the butter entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
OMG BOMB-DIGGITY! My husband said it's the best potato dish he has EVER had. He said it's better than any restaurant, I have to agree! I substituted half pint milk with half pint cream, I also substituted 2 teaspoons minced garlic from a jar instead of fresh garlic, I also substituted peeled red potatoes instead of Yukon Gold, the recipe still tasted AMAZING! If I could give 10 stars I would! This recipe is definitely a keeper, I'll probably laminate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gay Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Yeah, I am confused about all the rave reviews. I followed the recipe and ended up with a curdled mess. The taste was awesome though, so too bad it turned out the way it did. To anyone who decides to try it, omit the butter. With all that cheese you really don't need it and the cheese + butter creates a lot of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERDISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was great. Used half and half instead of cream per other's reviews and the advice of my mom. :) The provolone and garlic are definetly the keys. Next time I would add a little more cheddar, and my housemate said we should try it with green onions next time. I think both could make it taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
A wise sister once told me that whenever you cook a recipe for the first time, follow it exactly. That way you know who screwed up if it wasn't to your liking. After that do all the tweaking you like to your personal taste. Well, after making this recipe as is, we thought it was divine. Next time I will try to tweak it to make it less caloric! I'll sprinkle a Tblsp of flour over potatoes with regular milk, less butter and cheese, maybe green onions. As is, it is excellent but not to be eaten too often if health is a concern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ealanna
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I had the same experience with having a lot of oil floating around the dish. I tipped the casserole dish to the side in my sink and let most of the oil drain out. It was very tasty- but I think I am going to look for an alternative to the cheddar cheese- maybe Kraft American cheese? Something that melts smoothly without producing all the oil. I also substituted minced garlic for fresh garlic - just based on what was available in my pantry. Overall it was very filling and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States