Three Cheese Baked Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very good. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I also used 8 oz each of the provolone & mozzarella cheeses, since that's the size package they came in. 1 1/2 cup sour cream equaled about a 16 oz container, and the 6 1/2 cups spaghetti sauce equaled about a regular (26-27 oz) size jar. Leftovers were great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
555 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
The key to this recipe is the sour cream. Whatever you do, don't leave it out and don't scrimp on it. Though it's only one ingredient of many, one can really taste the sour cream aura and it enhances, not overwhelms the other ingredients. To boot, it provides a creaminess that would otherwise not be there. I did not have provolone cheese, so I substituted what I had on hand, which was a combination of cheddar cheese and Monteray jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
506 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This is a great recipe. Very satisfying comfort food. I like to stir in a package of thawed frozen chopped spinach into the ground beef and sauce mixture after it simmers. That way I don't feel guilty about serving this with no vegetables on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
468 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I scaled this recipe to 4 servings and used penne pasta. I thought the amount of ground beef seemed pretty skimpy, so I increased it to 8 oz. for my scaled version. Contrary to the information provided by the “most helpful” reviewer, there are 2 1/2 cups of pasta sauce in the Prego 24 oz. jar I used. So, there is no way there are 6 1/2 cups in a 27-28 oz. jar. And 16 oz. of sour cream is equal to 2 cups, not 1 1/2 cups. This recipe was good and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I made this after doing an ingredient search when I needed to use up my sour cream and mozzerella, and I also added a stick of Pepperoni which added so much flavor to this already tasty dish. I brought some to my sister in laws house, and she gave some to HER sister who had to have the recipe. My other sister in law said its a keeper and must be put in my regular meal plans...most importantly HUBBY loved it and gave it a "Good Job Babe" so I know its a keeper. Try it with the pepperoni, you wont be disappointed! YUMMY dish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumbleinmytummie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Wow This was really good. My husband loved it. I had a lot of left overs so I brought them to work. Everyone at my job liked it. One of my coworkers said it reminded her of her grandmothers cooking. For how much this makes I think it is a really cheap meal if you need to feed a crowd. I fed 9 people and still had leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This turned out really good and it's a nice change from the usual pasta. The only change I made was using sharp cheddar instead or provolone....because I didn't have provolone. Turned out great, paired with a greed salad a wonderful meal. And enough leftover for lunches too! Thanks Lalena for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This was a really good dish, my husband really loved it. I made a few small changes though. Because I am trying to watch my cheese intake, I substituted fat free ricotta cheese for the provolone, and it was awesome. I think ricotta really adds to this dish. Also, I used the advice of others and added some italian spices and some garlic to the sauce. This will be a regular in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was very good and an easy Sunday dish that goes into the rest of the week with leftovers. I grated the onion into the meat and added about 4 cloves of garlic. I used Classico onion and garlic sauce. I used light sour cream and lower fat provolone and I used penne. I will make this again and it is easy enough that I can hubby whip it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this recipe and it turned out very tasty. I used Italian sausage instead of ground beef and white cheddar as I didn't have provolone. It was delish! Thanks, it's a keeper. I did make it the day before and let it sit in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Q

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States