Three Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I used strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, and blueberries. The only other change was to use 1/4 cup corn starch instead of 3 tbs. I love the pie, but it is too runny and the consistency of the filling made the bottom crust too soggy. I just made a Strawberry-Rhubarb pie that is very similar, but called for a portion of the sugar-flour mixture to be layered onto the bottom crust before adding the fruit, and I would definitely follow that advice for this pie as well. Other than that, it tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
331 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This recipe was a major success! I used 3/4 cup sugar/cinnamon mix instead. As recommended, I put another tbsp cornstarch in the mix and also some cornstarch/sugar on the pie crust bottom before putting in the mix. For the berries: 1 1/2 cups strawberries, 1 1/2 cup blueberries, 1 cup raspberries, 1 cup blackberries. The top crust I coated with egg wash and then sprinkled with some sugar/cinnamon mix. Rave reviews, and devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMEN464

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
DELICIOUS!!!!! ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!! I used this recipe as a base and then altered it to my taste: I used all frozen fruit(strawberries, raspberries, & blackberies) and let them thaw for 30 min before using. I increased the sugar to 2/3 cup and the cornstarch to 1/4 cup. I added 2-3 tbs of lemon juice for tartness as well plus a little sprinkled cinnamon too. When placing the crust in the pan I suggest flouring the pan first to prevent sticking and also dusting a bit of the sugar/cornstarch mix in the pie crust before you add the fruit so the bottom crust doesnt get soggy. I cut a lattice top with the 2nd crust and brushed it with an egg wash (1 egg mixed with 1/4 cup cold water) right before baking. Baked for 20 min, then covered edges with foil to prevent burning, and baked until golden brown (30-40 min) THE BEST PIE EVER!!! There were NO leftovers! and by baking the whole thing in a disposable pie pan on top of a foil lined cookie sheet there were also no dishes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Heck, 5 stars...I left this overnight to thicken in a cool place, which I think was key, because it wasn't runny AT ALL! Runiness is my main problem with homemade pies vs. store-bought ones (though of course homemade TASTES better). I used frozen raspberries and strawberries and just let them thaw and drain (fresh blueberries). Baked for the "fresh" fruit amount of time, however it needed a bit more than 30 minutes w/o foil to brown. Also - put a toothpick in the centre of your pie so that the foil doesn't bake into the crust. Mine nearly did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
A bag of frozen mixed berries also does the trick. Try adding a tablespoon or two of lemon juice for a little but of tartness. Sprinkling the crust with cinnamon sugar is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
Easy. I used all frozen berries. Everyone loved it. Whole pie was gone by the next day! 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
This is such a great pie recipe; I've made it often since I first rated it in 2001. Both my husband and I just love it (he says it is the best pie he has ever had!). The first time I made this, I just used strawberries, blueberries and raspberries, but I now make it with a mixture of fresh strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries, as well as blackberries--this makes it even yummier!! I also use 1/4 cup cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYNBRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
EASY! I decided that I was going to try to bake once a week and since I've not ever made a pie before, I started with this simple recipe....I used 2 cups frozen blackberries and 2 cups frozen raspberries. I let them thaw out to refridgerator temperature and then used 1/2 sugar and 1/4 cornstarch. I baked it for a little over an hour until it got golden, I let it sit overnight and today I cut it and PERFECT amount of cornstarch, the piece popped out like perfection! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This pie brings back wonderful memories of those found in old-fashioned, diner-type, family owned restaurants. The kind you drooled over sitting on the counter under the glass cover. This is just wonderful, toe-curling, comfort food goodness. I love the simple flavors of just the sweetened fruit - no cinnamon, no butter, no lemon, etc. And perfect as written - no extra cornstarch is necessary if baked until bubbly and not cut until cooled! I also liked that it was not overly sweet. I paired this with "Grandma's Secret Pie Crust," which was obviously prophetic in how this turned out, because if you didn't find this pie in that old fashioned diner, you'd find it in your grandma's kitchen. Great combination of berries, and just the right proportions of each. We just loved it, simple as that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2002
It tasted good, but didn't hold toghether at all. I called it cobbler, and it was eaten. I used frozen fruits, but didn't drain them, maybe I should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States