Three Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Decent starting point for a recipe. Like others, I added more cornstarch and also just plain flour to the filling to thicken it up. I used 2 quarts of strawberries, 1 pint of blackberries, and one cup of frozen blueberries (thawed). I also used half white sugar and half brown sugar. I also added cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg to the filling. I did not have any problem with the pie coming out runny. Very tasty served slightly warmed. I will make again adding raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This pie was great! I've never made a berry pie before and found it extremely straight-forward and easy to use. I used a couple of suggestions from the comments, using 1/4 cup of cornstarch and putting a thin layer of sugar and cornstarch on the bottom to keep it from getting soggy. I used all frozen berries and it turned out fantastic. We put the pies in the fridge shortly after they came out of the oven and they aren't runny in the slightest. This is definitely going to be my go-to recipe for berry pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was delicious. I used all strawberries and 1/4 cup corn starch as others had suggested. I sprinkles 1 tablespoon over the crust before I put the strawberry mixture into the crust. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Simoni
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Made this for the first time for Christmas. It was a huge hit! I used all fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Simoni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is my fall back pie and is always a big hit. I use frozen berries, then add a little orange flavoring, cinnamon, ginger and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This Recipe is the BEST ever. Love, Love, Love it1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Super easy pie to make. I put a crumble topping on instead of another pie crust. (Brown sugar, butter, flour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA
Living In: Truckee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Outstanding recipe. I read reviews before making and increased cornstarch and added lemon juice. Some reviewers indicated the bottom crust was soggy. To prevent this problem, I baked and cooled the bottom crust. Then, added filling and top crust. Did not change the cooking time or temperature. I used the Three Berry Mix (frozen) from Sam's. Increased the amount of berries by one cup. If you are looking a treat...this pie will make you smile. Topped with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by celhenry
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was awesome! My family was all over this... I'm about to dig in for seconds right now :-). I added the 1/4 cup of cornstarch and squeezed half of a fresh lime in the berries for a little extra punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celhenry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Flavor was very good but even with using the 1/4 cup of corn starch recommended by others, this came out very soupy for me. Was still good over icecream, but I might try tapioca pearls to thicken another time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States