Three Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This pie was sooo good. I used all fresh fruit, and added blackberries. I let it cool for 2-3 hours before slicing and it was still way too runny. Put it in fridge over night, and it was a little better the next day, but still runny. Will make again with 1/4c cornstarch as others suggested. I also used the "Grandma's Secret Pie Crust" recipe, which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This review is only based on the pie filling and cooking times/temp. This is the first berry pie that I have ever made. It was AMAZING and it was so simplistic! I loved the fact that there was only 1/2 of sugar to 4.5 cups of berries. The consistency was perfect, the cooking time was great. I had rave reviews in my home! My husband said it's the best berry pie he has ever tasted. I went easy this time(because it was 100 degrees in our house), and used a pre-made pie crust and did latice work with the second pre-made pie crust, but next time, I will have to give this pie crust recipe a try as well. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Very Easy and Very Good! This will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANAGOLLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Substituted 4.5 cups of frozen mixed berries, and 1/4 cup cornstarch. The set was perfect, but could have used more sugar...very tart! Overall a simple and nearly fail proof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXmama2Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Good, Basic Pie recipe. I followed it exactly the first time I made it. It was good- a simple pie. The next time, I added more sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, lemon juice etc to the fruit mixture to liven it up a bit. I also used already made pie crust to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I used a frozen bag of mixed berries (thawed and drained) and 2 cups of fresh blueberries. I also used a frozen pie crust which I thawed out and used the 2nd crust to cut the lattice strips for the top of the pie. I mixed the fruit with 1/4 cup cornstarch and 2/3 cups of sugar and squeezed half a lemon with the fruit mixture. I let it sit for 15 minutes while I dusted the bottom portion of the pie crust with cornstarch and sugar to keep the crust from getting soggy. I then placed foil around the edges of the pie and followed the baking instructions. The pie was very good and I served with fat free cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingmama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AprilDawn
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This pie is amazing! I used fresh blueberries, blackberries, strawberries and frozen cherries that I thawed and drained well. I added extra cornstarch to the fruit mix and also a bit of cornstarch and sugar to the bottom of the crust before I filled it. I love this recipe and will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cashiers, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I dusted the bottom crust with extra flour before adding the fruit . This helped absorb some of the liquid. Turned out beautifully nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I have made this more then once using thawed and fresh berries. Both times it was watery after baking!!!! I have upped the cornstarch to 4-5 TB with fresh and used 7TB with the thawed. When I made it the first time I thought chilling it would help thicken it. After it chilled it was still watery so I just froze it and then to serve BOTH pies I would only thaw long enough to cut and then serve in a bowl with ice cream the family liked it that way but this just is a watery pie. I know others have comment on that and others say it's perfect. I will keep looking! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!! You MUST try. DO increase the cornstarch to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium

Displaying results 41-50 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States