Three Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Substituted 4.5 cups of frozen mixed berries, and 1/4 cup cornstarch. The set was perfect, but could have used more sugar...very tart! Overall a simple and nearly fail proof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXmama2Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Good, Basic Pie recipe. I followed it exactly the first time I made it. It was good- a simple pie. The next time, I added more sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, lemon juice etc to the fruit mixture to liven it up a bit. I also used already made pie crust to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I used a frozen bag of mixed berries (thawed and drained) and 2 cups of fresh blueberries. I also used a frozen pie crust which I thawed out and used the 2nd crust to cut the lattice strips for the top of the pie. I mixed the fruit with 1/4 cup cornstarch and 2/3 cups of sugar and squeezed half a lemon with the fruit mixture. I let it sit for 15 minutes while I dusted the bottom portion of the pie crust with cornstarch and sugar to keep the crust from getting soggy. I then placed foil around the edges of the pie and followed the baking instructions. The pie was very good and I served with fat free cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingmama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AprilDawn
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This pie is amazing! I used fresh blueberries, blackberries, strawberries and frozen cherries that I thawed and drained well. I added extra cornstarch to the fruit mix and also a bit of cornstarch and sugar to the bottom of the crust before I filled it. I love this recipe and will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cashiers, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I dusted the bottom crust with extra flour before adding the fruit . This helped absorb some of the liquid. Turned out beautifully nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I have made this more then once using thawed and fresh berries. Both times it was watery after baking!!!! I have upped the cornstarch to 4-5 TB with fresh and used 7TB with the thawed. When I made it the first time I thought chilling it would help thicken it. After it chilled it was still watery so I just froze it and then to serve BOTH pies I would only thaw long enough to cut and then serve in a bowl with ice cream the family liked it that way but this just is a watery pie. I know others have comment on that and others say it's perfect. I will keep looking! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!! You MUST try. DO increase the cornstarch to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Yum, yum yum! This is the best pie I've made yet. My only alterations were up the blueberries to 2 1/2 cups and decrease the raspberries to 1 cup. Also just 1/4 cup of sugar and a little sprinkle of fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This pie filling recipe was excellent and easy to make. It wasn't runny. I made 2 batches, refrigerated one whole pie overnight and it came out terrific and even better. I will make this again. I cheated with the crust and used the roll-out Pillsbury pie crust, 1 was for a crust and a half crust for lattice top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
A great recipe! I used the Butter Flaky Pie Crust recipe because we don't eat Shortening; I also increased the corn starch to 1/4C at some others recommendation. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy9216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States