Three Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I used a frozen bag of mixed berries (thawed and drained) and 2 cups of fresh blueberries. I also used a frozen pie crust which I thawed out and used the 2nd crust to cut the lattice strips for the top of the pie. I mixed the fruit with 1/4 cup cornstarch and 2/3 cups of sugar and squeezed half a lemon with the fruit mixture. I let it sit for 15 minutes while I dusted the bottom portion of the pie crust with cornstarch and sugar to keep the crust from getting soggy. I then placed foil around the edges of the pie and followed the baking instructions. The pie was very good and I served with fat free cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingmama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AprilDawn
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This pie is amazing! I used fresh blueberries, blackberries, strawberries and frozen cherries that I thawed and drained well. I added extra cornstarch to the fruit mix and also a bit of cornstarch and sugar to the bottom of the crust before I filled it. I love this recipe and will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cashiers, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I dusted the bottom crust with extra flour before adding the fruit . This helped absorb some of the liquid. Turned out beautifully nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I have made this more then once using thawed and fresh berries. Both times it was watery after baking!!!! I have upped the cornstarch to 4-5 TB with fresh and used 7TB with the thawed. When I made it the first time I thought chilling it would help thicken it. After it chilled it was still watery so I just froze it and then to serve BOTH pies I would only thaw long enough to cut and then serve in a bowl with ice cream the family liked it that way but this just is a watery pie. I know others have comment on that and others say it's perfect. I will keep looking! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!! You MUST try. DO increase the cornstarch to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Yum, yum yum! This is the best pie I've made yet. My only alterations were up the blueberries to 2 1/2 cups and decrease the raspberries to 1 cup. Also just 1/4 cup of sugar and a little sprinkle of fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This pie filling recipe was excellent and easy to make. It wasn't runny. I made 2 batches, refrigerated one whole pie overnight and it came out terrific and even better. I will make this again. I cheated with the crust and used the roll-out Pillsbury pie crust, 1 was for a crust and a half crust for lattice top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
A great recipe! I used the Butter Flaky Pie Crust recipe because we don't eat Shortening; I also increased the corn starch to 1/4C at some others recommendation. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy9216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Love this pie! It's so easy to make, I do add more berries than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Runny, anyone? I followed the recipe of the filling as I had a made crust already. The only thing I did was that I used FROZEN berries as apposed to fresh ones. I baked it a bit over time just to see if it thicken and to brown the crust a bit and I added in a bit more cornstarch. Still when I pulled it out of the oven it was liquid. Yummy though, but more cobbler than pie in my case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States