Three Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Made this several times with fresh fruit. Not sure why sometimes there is a ton of liqiud and others not. Wondering if it has to do with the berries being in season and having more juice in them. I would increase the corn starch if you think you have extra juicy berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made this recipe for my husband on valentines day. We both loved it! This was my first time making a homemade crust, and so the crust wasn't very pretty. I had a hard time getting the edges even, they were pretty jagged. Once cooked though, the pie itself tastes delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, and used all fresh berries. I saw some others added lemon juice for tartness, but mine was plenty tart with the fresh berries! I let it sit overnight before cutting and it was perfect. Not runny at all. I would probably add some sugar to the top crust next time to add a little sweetness to the crust. This was fabulous and I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was good. Needed more sugar, my berries were very tart. And vanilla ice cream on the top--wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I added 1 TBSP cinnamon to sugar. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this thanksgiving (2013) but doubled the filling recipe and added black berries. Also going over the top of the crust with an egg and milk wash with sugar and apple pie spice. This was a hit. I will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I did use a different pie crust recipe (Pie Crust IV), and upped the cornstarch to 1/4 cup as suggested by others. This came out so good! I used 24-oz of frozen mixed berries and it was so delicious. I've never used frozen fruit before and loved how easy this pie was to throw together. It got great reviews from the guys who enjoyed it after dinner tonight and went beautifully, still warm from the oven, with some vanilla ice cream. Definitely will use this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by mbibble
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is a great recipe. Lots of room for modification, and plenty of consistency if you just want to follow the recipe and have a great, basic triple berry pie. I used a butter-based crust recipe instead of this shortening one and I used blackberries in addition to the other berries. A couple of tips I found useful are to brush the bottom of the pie crust (before adding the filling) with an egg white to create a barrier between the filling and crust, throw your pie pan and crust into the fridge while you prepare the filling, add a 1/4 teaspoon (or more if you like more present flavors) of nutmeg, grenadine extract, and of cinnamon, let the filling stand in the fridge for longer than 15 minutes and discard any of the fruit liquid at the bottom of the bowl before scooping into pie crust (or heat the fruits slightly and remove extra liquid so the pie isn't soggy), keep the amount of cornstarch the same unless you use a lot more fruit - cornstarch isn't tasty and even though being calorically economic doesn't make sense with this pie, cornstarch adds useless calories. Instead, to eliminate the chances of sogginess, I did a lattice top and halfway through baking, I poured out some of the "extra" liquid. That liquid makes delicious ice cream topping if you want to keep some, though. I also squeezed in lemon and some lemon zest. You won't taste either (unless you overdo it), but it will bring out the freshness of your berries. The pie was amazing and was gone in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
The crust was flaky, the filling juicy, it was an all around wonderful pie, and very easy to make. Perfect for people who can't eat dairy. My whole family loved it and can't wait for more. Thanks for the AMAZING recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everything Dessert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This pie was sooo good. I used all fresh fruit, and added blackberries. I let it cool for 2-3 hours before slicing and it was still way too runny. Put it in fridge over night, and it was a little better the next day, but still runny. Will make again with 1/4c cornstarch as others suggested. I also used the "Grandma's Secret Pie Crust" recipe, which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This review is only based on the pie filling and cooking times/temp. This is the first berry pie that I have ever made. It was AMAZING and it was so simplistic! I loved the fact that there was only 1/2 of sugar to 4.5 cups of berries. The consistency was perfect, the cooking time was great. I had rave reviews in my home! My husband said it's the best berry pie he has ever tasted. I went easy this time(because it was 100 degrees in our house), and used a pre-made pie crust and did latice work with the second pre-made pie crust, but next time, I will have to give this pie crust recipe a try as well. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States