Three Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was good. Needed more sugar, my berries were very tart. And vanilla ice cream on the top--wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I added 1 TBSP cinnamon to sugar. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this thanksgiving (2013) but doubled the filling recipe and added black berries. Also going over the top of the crust with an egg and milk wash with sugar and apple pie spice. This was a hit. I will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I did use a different pie crust recipe (Pie Crust IV), and upped the cornstarch to 1/4 cup as suggested by others. This came out so good! I used 24-oz of frozen mixed berries and it was so delicious. I've never used frozen fruit before and loved how easy this pie was to throw together. It got great reviews from the guys who enjoyed it after dinner tonight and went beautifully, still warm from the oven, with some vanilla ice cream. Definitely will use this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by mbibble
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is a great recipe. Lots of room for modification, and plenty of consistency if you just want to follow the recipe and have a great, basic triple berry pie. I used a butter-based crust recipe instead of this shortening one and I used blackberries in addition to the other berries. A couple of tips I found useful are to brush the bottom of the pie crust (before adding the filling) with an egg white to create a barrier between the filling and crust, throw your pie pan and crust into the fridge while you prepare the filling, add a 1/4 teaspoon (or more if you like more present flavors) of nutmeg, grenadine extract, and of cinnamon, let the filling stand in the fridge for longer than 15 minutes and discard any of the fruit liquid at the bottom of the bowl before scooping into pie crust (or heat the fruits slightly and remove extra liquid so the pie isn't soggy), keep the amount of cornstarch the same unless you use a lot more fruit - cornstarch isn't tasty and even though being calorically economic doesn't make sense with this pie, cornstarch adds useless calories. Instead, to eliminate the chances of sogginess, I did a lattice top and halfway through baking, I poured out some of the "extra" liquid. That liquid makes delicious ice cream topping if you want to keep some, though. I also squeezed in lemon and some lemon zest. You won't taste either (unless you overdo it), but it will bring out the freshness of your berries. The pie was amazing and was gone in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
The crust was flaky, the filling juicy, it was an all around wonderful pie, and very easy to make. Perfect for people who can't eat dairy. My whole family loved it and can't wait for more. Thanks for the AMAZING recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everything Dessert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This pie was sooo good. I used all fresh fruit, and added blackberries. I let it cool for 2-3 hours before slicing and it was still way too runny. Put it in fridge over night, and it was a little better the next day, but still runny. Will make again with 1/4c cornstarch as others suggested. I also used the "Grandma's Secret Pie Crust" recipe, which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This review is only based on the pie filling and cooking times/temp. This is the first berry pie that I have ever made. It was AMAZING and it was so simplistic! I loved the fact that there was only 1/2 of sugar to 4.5 cups of berries. The consistency was perfect, the cooking time was great. I had rave reviews in my home! My husband said it's the best berry pie he has ever tasted. I went easy this time(because it was 100 degrees in our house), and used a pre-made pie crust and did latice work with the second pre-made pie crust, but next time, I will have to give this pie crust recipe a try as well. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Very Easy and Very Good! This will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANAGOLLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Substituted 4.5 cups of frozen mixed berries, and 1/4 cup cornstarch. The set was perfect, but could have used more sugar...very tart! Overall a simple and nearly fail proof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXmama2Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States