Three Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This was my first attempt at making a berry pie. I loved the favors but my pie didn't set up properly. Not sure where I went wrong :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Delicious! Increased the sugar and cornstarch as suggested, and used blueberries, BlackBerries, and strawberries. It was a hit at Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I used all frozen fruit and some of the adjustments from the previous reviews. I put the foil on for the first 20 and then took it off for the last 35. I put some of the cornstarch/sugar on the bottom to protect against the seeping of berries. I did add more water than was called for (amost double). It was good, but it needs a few hours to set or its runny. I would have it cool for 3 hours or so. Even at about 1.5 hours, it was pretty good mixed berry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbie Cooper
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Amazing! I made three of these pies as part of a wedding pie display (instead of wedding cake). I used ready-made sweet shortcrust pastry and also frozen berries, replacing the strawberries with boysenberries. I thawed the fruit first and strained the juice before adding to the cornstarch and sugar. Also added another tablespoon of cornstarch and a good squeeze of lemon juice to the berries. After adding berry mix to pastry shell (berries very broken down at this point) I added some individual frozen raspberries and boysenberries so there would be some berries that retained their form. This pie was best left to cool for at least four hours, preferably overnight, which gives filling time to set. The pies received rave reviews and I have had many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbie Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I have made this recipe many times. It is always a smash hit. I do not do a traditional top crust, but rather a crumb topping....which is made with 1/2 cup flour, 1/4 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup of butter. These are creamed together with a pastry blender and sprinkled on the pie. I bake it for about 50 minutes uncovered at 400°.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I'm on a mission to use up what I have, so I used a store-bought box of pie crust and a frozen 1 lb bag of mixed fruit. After the fruit was defrosted, there seemed to be a lot of juice, so I drained it. It didn't look like much, so I also added about a cup of defrosted blueberries. Following some suggestions, I sprinkled cornstarch and sugar on the bottom of the crust. Into the fruit mixture I added about 2/3 cup of sugar, about 1/4 cup of cornstarch, and a few shakes of cinnamon. After attaching the top crust, I made various slits around and cut out a 1-inch circle in the middle (you could actually see the insides bubbling in there when I took it out of the oven!). I just sprinkled the top with white sugar and a little cinnamon. Baked at 350 for 20 min, then covered the crust edges with foil and baked just over an hour. Some reviewers mentioned it was runny, so I cooled it, covered with foil and placed into the refrig (planning to have tomorrow), but couldn't wait and had it after ~3 hrs. Sliced beautifully with no runnyness, good sweetness and perfect tartness. It was great with vanilla ice cream! Nice comfort food during the beginnings of a blizzard! Thanks Jenn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
After reading the reviews, I baked my first mixed fruit pie. I decided to follow the advice of many contributors. I increased the sugar to 2/3 cup, the cornstarch to 1/4 cup, dusted the glass pie dish with flour prior to placing the crust. also brushed the top crust with milk and sprinkled with sugar prior to baking. To avoid burning my pie crusts, (besides covering the edges with foil for half the baking time), I now bake all my pies at 350 degrees, and and at least 10 min. Baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Didn't think it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
My mom said this is the BEST pie she's ever had. My husband and I LOVE it as well. I have made this pie twice in one week. It's delicious. The tartness depends on how tart the fruit you use it. I changed a few things as recommended by others. I did 1/4 C. Cornstarch and 2/3 sugar. I tend to have to bake it longer than recommended. The crust is perfect. This pie is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I used fresh raspberries & blackberries plus frozen blueberries (thawed & drained) and added 1 tsp cinnamon & 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the filling. I made this an open-faced pie with no top shell, baked it at 350F for 45 minutes, and then set it in the fridge for two hours before serving and it thickened up no problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRobin58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States