Three-Berry Lemon Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
So simple, yet so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ru Lightcap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Made this for fathers day and it was a hit! made as stated except I used 6 oz lemon cream pie yogurt and 2 oz vanilla yogurt as the yogurt cups come in 6 oz sizes. Anyway, i was a little concerned about it being too 'lemony' as others stated but it not at all. It is definitely necessary to let it sit overnight at least- maybe longer so the cake can absorb more of the yogurt mixture. I skipped the almonds- it just didn't need it. Edited 7/14/12- made again for the 4th of July. Put in a 9X13 pan and it didn't turn out as well. Could be that I used a store brand of angel food cake instead of an actual brand name (seemed kind of dense, not so airy) and a thicker lemon yogurt instead. The cake just didn't seem absorb the goo which is what makes it sooo good. Will try again in a 9X13 (although not all the cake fits so maybe a bigger cake pan would be better) but will use a brand cake mix for sure. Edited 6/14- Needed to save time so I bought an angel food cake from the grocery bakery BUT I also saw a lemon cream cake there so bought both and used half of each- Made a huge difference- it was delicious! Used half vanilla half lemon yogurt. Strawberries and blueberries in all layers. Did a trifle and a 9X13 (with just 1 layer) since I had the 2 cakes I doubled everything- the 9x13 ended up just as good as the trifle. Everyone LOVES this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was too sweet for us. I used vanilla yogurt instead of lemon and not all of the Condensed milk. It still was too sweet. We also thought it had an odd after taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Very easy and yummy! Took about half hour total to make....chose to use vanilla yogurt instead with the 1/3 cup lemon juice, made just the right amt of lemony taste. Sugar free cool whip. Used strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries for garnish. Refridgerated for about 5 hours before serving, perfect! Make this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianne Son-Hing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Easy, beautiful and yummy...the perfect recipe! I kept everything as original recipe except used Vanilla Yogurt instead of the lemon yogurt and did not use the grated lemon peel following suggestions of others. Thanks Ilene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
WOW! Like everyone else, I love this recipe! It is light and refreshing. I made a double batch for a church get together and it was so good the bowl was scraped clean. Everyone wanted the recipe. Using yogurt instead of pudding like most recipes makes all the difference. I used french vanilla yogurt and increased the lemon juice and zest by one half. I will use this basic recipe with peaches etc as the summer produce comes in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was really good!!! I used fat free vanilla yogurt instead of lemon yogurt and it was nice and lemony still. I made this the day before the event and put it in the fridge over night. It worked well, but I would suggest putting the whipped topping on right before you serve it. I brought this to a pot luck and it was almost all gone even with our small guest list. I will definitely make it again. Fresh berries are the key to this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I usually avoid recipes that are just assembling ingredients and not "cooking" but no complaints about this one!!! I made a chocolate layer cake from the Food Network (that took all day) and wanted another easier dessert for the dinner party. Well......no one finished the cake and everyone went back for seconds of this. I actually added more lemon juice and zest and I had to make more of the cream because there wasn't quite enough for the 3 layers. I didn't care --- it was so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I used the basic methods and altered a few ingredients.. Over all it was delicous! I used pound cake which I spread a bit of raspberry preserves on one side. I used Greek lemon yogurt/ cool whip mix for the creamy layer and blackberries and blue berries. I didn't use the lemon juice or the sweetened cond. milk. For the topping I used some granola... YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Everyone enjoyed this trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States