Three Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I thought this was totally yummy. I put in two cloves of garlic, too. Also I was confused about the amounts (19 oz cans?) - I used the 15oz cans for the beans. For the lentils I used a small can of condensed lentil soup. That pretty much took care of the spices, and both the salt and the oregano werent neccessary. It was thicker than I wanted and still tasted mostly like the canned tomatoes, so I added chicken broth until I liked the consistency and the taste. Then I added a couple spoonfuls of tomato paste just because it seemed like a good idea. Made a giant pot and is seriously really tasty. Cant wait to try it again after a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Delicious and very easy! Makes a big pot, which I meant to freeze for later but I ended up eating it all within a couple of days. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Well - I did make changes to it - like I drained the beans and rinsed them - and then I added about a liter of vegetable broth to make it more soupy less stew-ish... it was a very nice flavor - just giving it a 3 star b/c it's not like the best I've ever had. But it's decent enough and I may make it again b/c it uses up some of my canned/dried food storage. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is good, but not great. As others have said, it's not all that flavorful but what flavor it does have is pleasant. I've never heard of canned lentils, so I put in a cup of dried lentils. That meant that the soup needed to be cooked a little longer and I had to add a lot of extra water as it was cooking. I recommend putting the cheese on top of each bowl instead of mixing it into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I made almost this duplicate recipe but I ommitted the oregano and added 1 cup medium salsa, 1/2 teas cumin, 2 T lime juice and 1 teas dried cilantro. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This recipe was really good. Loved the fact that it's packed with fibre and low in calories. The only thing I changed was using 2 cloves of garlic instead of 1. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I thought it was ok. I just realized that I completely forgot about putting the cheese in. I don't think it would have made much of a difference though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Better than I thought it would be. Quite tasty. I added a bit of whole wheat pasta as well as shredded cabbage because there only seemed to be beans without addition of some sort of vegetable (besides the onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was really good. The only change I made was to add a can of chicken broth to thin it down alittle. It was alittle bland before I added the mozzarella cheese. We thought the addition of the cheese was great and made the soup taste like pizza. I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States